The Hoarder Next Door

Today is day 12 of the ‘Blog Every Day in May’ challenge and the prompt is: Are you a collector? Maybe a bit of a hoarder? Tell us about something you like to collect. Or if you favour minimalism, perhaps tell us why?

Now, I am far from a minimalist. I like things. I wouldn’t describe myself as a hoarder… I’m in the middle of finding somewhere to live so 95% of my stuff is in storage, and I’m absolutely fine. But I do love collecting things, lots of things:

Books

Jpeg

These are the only physical books I have in the flat, but I have about 15 boxes of books in the attic. My current shortage of books has led to me A renewing my love of the library and B collecting hundreds of Kindle books.

More Books

Jpeg

I also collect old books, in a variety of sizes, to turn into art journals. I would only choose unloved books from charity shops for this, as the idea of damaging books is still a bit painful to me… I won’t even use pencil in my text books…

Magazines

Jpeg

I adore magazines. I read them and then save them to use in art projects. I currently have a subscription to Cosmo, my Grandma donates all her gardening magazines, and the rest come from car boot sales. I once got a whole stack of glossy BBC History magazines for £1.50 (and we all know I love a bargain!).

Notebooks

Jpeg

Ok, so I’m an unapologetic stationery addict. I love notebooks in all forms, but it’s only recently that I’ve been able to bring myself to start writing in some of the prettiest! Paperchase is obviously the Mecca of all stationery stores, but I also actually really like notebooks from Wilkinsons – the paper is really smooth and they have some really nice designs.

Pens

Jpeg

 

I adore all kinds of pens for writing, doodling and doing arty things with. This is just a random handful I pulled from the top of my pen tin.

These are a few of the things I like to fill my shelves with, but believe me, there are more! I don’t doubt that as soon as I get my new house I’ll start collecting all manner of things… I’m definitely looking forward to finding exciting furniture!

So what things do you collect? Could you live without them?

D x

3 thoughts on “The Hoarder Next Door

  1. I’m beginning to think I collect Kindles…I now have 3…the oldest one is for books only, the second one now thinks it’s a Kindle Fire (?) and the third one does just about anything :D I once figured out I’d moved on average of once every 2 years during my lifetime…that’s a lot of moving…which is not conducive to saving, collecting or hoarding!!! Over the years I’ve learned to recycle things I haven’t used in a year…so not much in the way of excess happening in this place! I do have #4H pencils my Dad saved…I’ll never use them up in what remains of my lifetime…love them for doing my doodles. And I’ve collected a few colored markers…again for the doodling. I’m trying to collect a bit of art…by internet friends…and my walls are looking pretty respectable :D I sometimes wonder where I’d be living IF I could have saved everything I’ve bought ’cause I loved it!!! :D

  2. I am so much of a hoarder that I could almost be on that TV programme, well maybe not quite as bad but I keep opening boxes or drawers and finding piles of crafting stuff I forgot I had! I am selling stuff of gradually – but buying as much or more back again lol!
    Cazzy x

Leave a Reply

