The Art of Benin, Part 1

Today is the third day in a row I’ve spent working on this essay, and still it seems bad. Worse than bad. My word limit is 500, it doesn’t ever really seem enough to create a decent argument… It appears that the OU loves to give teeny tiny word counts (or they have so far).  I know that in the long run it is teaching us to be concise, but for now, the waffling wordsmith within me is a tad frustrated. So in this case I’ve had to put down my trusty thesaurus and just strip it all down.

I’ve spent endless hours in a caffeinated frenzy just trying to make a first draft… I’ve been struggling with this assignment, much more than I usually do! Usually I gather my notes, reread the chapter and just get on with writing, but this time I seem to have just passed a stupid amount of time just staring at my computer screen. I think maybe it has something to do with the silly question- we were given a source and then asked to discuss what it says about cross-cultural encounters. On the surface, that sounds fairly simple but actually, the source was completely devoid of anything relating to cross-cultural encounters…. eek! I have to admit that there were a few moments of sheer panic, but I managed to breathe myself into a sense of calm!

However, I am happy to report that, after an excruciating few days, I’ve finished! The topic itself is something that I knew absolutely nothing about. Doing a module like AA100, you come across a huge variety of topics. The chapters on the Art of Benin were really quite interesting, I mean, I didn’t even know there was a country called Benin! I have to admit I’ve always had a bit of a fascination with anything relating to the Empire, and this chapter really gave me a lot of insight. I think I learnt a lot about the history of our country and how it interacted with other cultures throughout history.

I have to keep it all fresh in my mind as I now have to get going on the second part of this assignment, that involves a 1000 word essay, due in two days! Obviously I may have to pull an all-nighter, so I better make a start nowish.

Ciao, D x

5 thoughts on “The Art of Benin, Part 1

  1. benin is not a country in this case is nigeria… or have a miss the point. is benin city …there is country now called benin but is not the same… or dear I am confused!

  2. Pingback: Best in Book Blogging 2013 | Doing it the Open Way

  3. Pingback: A Belated Year in Review | Doing it the Open Way

  4. First of all I would like to say awesome blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts
    before writing. I have had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out there.
    I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are
    lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas
    or tips? Thanks!

    • Hi! Sorry I haven’t responded in so long – I’ve moved my blog over to openwaydesigns.com

      I would recommend you start out by writing a list of everything that’s coming into your head. Get all of your ideas down on paper and out of you brain. Then just dive in and make a start. I find that having a clear roadmap of tasks is really helpful and helps me get stuff done much more effectively.

Leave a Reply

