On The Road

Last year for my birthday, I got the most amazing book I’ve ever seen… “1001 books to read before you die”. And I made myself a little promise that I’d try to read as many as possible before I do. So I randomly flipped through the pages, and I landed on “On the Road” by Jack Kerouac. It just so happens that I had a copy of it on my shelf, so for a week it became my bus book. Shouldn’t have bothered.

After reading the introduction, you would think it was the greatest thing since sliced bread … but to be honest it was a bit naff. It wasn’t difficult to read, it was just a bit unpleasant. It’s exactly how I imagine the inside of a man’s head to be… not a pretty sight! It’s basically about this guy who’s a bit past his best, but just wants to roam around the country with his mates, not doing much of anything except getting stoned and getting laid.

One aspect that got right on my wick was the slang. There were sections that I’d need a decoder ring to read… for example “harrumph! egad! kaff! kaff! Major Hoople, sir,” WHAT DOES THAT EVEN MEAN?!

To be completely honest, I don’t really have much else to say about this particular book… I should probably just have read “Gone with the Wind” again! On the bright side, I have another page of “1001 books…” to tick off! Hopefully I’ll enjoy the other 1000 a bit more!

One thought on “On The Road

  1. Pingback: 1,001 Books | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

