Interview with the Vampire

The first in the Vampire Chronicles series by Anne Rice. I was desperate to love this book, I really was. Unfortunately, I didn’t. I blame the film. I saw it for the first time about 5 years ago, and I loved it with all my heart, so I was hoping that the book it was based on would be truly spectacular. Everybody always says (about every film) that the book is so much better, and usually that is the case.

Now I wouldn’t go as far as to say that this was a bad book, it was just a little underwhelming. I was expecting something life altering, as one of the first in a long line of romanticized views on Vampire life…

I suppose the question is, should you try to read the book before you watch a film, or should you watch the film first and read the book later? It seems like a double-edged sword… every time I read the book first I can’t stand the film (e.g. Harry Potter), every time I see the film first the book doesn’t quite live up to it (e.g. Lord of the Rings). Can you ever enjoy both? What do you think? Have you ever come across a story that was equally magnificent on-screen and on paper?

2 thoughts on “Interview with the Vampire

  1. Pingback: Whimsical Reading – Mythical Creatures | Doing it the Open Way

  2. Pingback: 1,001 Books | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

