Rhett Butler’s People

Rhett Butler’s People (by Donald McCaig) is based on the one and only Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell. I turned the first page with extreme scepticism as Gone With the Wind is my all time favourite book, and I thought that surely any spin-off would be catastrophic. I was wrong. It was great, truly great.

Every detail, including the voice of the author, was in keeping with the original. The wonderful characters created by Mitchell were amplified and enriched by an influx of fresh cast members, and a new perspective. For once we knew what Rhett Butler was thinking, and it was absolutely worth the wait.

I really don’t think I can find the words to describe just how much I loved this book… I read it in hospital when I was at my grouchiest, and it really made me feel better. What was even better… I could finally find out what happened “tomorrow at Tara”.

Frankly, this is one book that you will give a damn about, I know I did.

Leave a Reply

