Rebecca

I started reading Rebecca, by Daphne Du Maurier, when I was in a doctor’s waiting room. I was so gripped by the first few pages that my doctor had to yell my name four times… and considering that all the characters had done was eat some bread and butter that says a lot about her writing style.

I became acquainted with the story of Rebecca many moons ago, when I saw the movie (starring the timeless Laurence Olivier). I think there’s something much more intriguing about black and white movies; they just seem much more able to convey mystery and suspense than most of the modern-day horror flicks you see.

Ok, I got sidetracked, this is not about the film. It has been a long time since I’ve read something as feverishly as I read this book, I couldn’t put it down! There was just something so unique about the voice of the narrator- I’ve never read anything by Daphne Du Maurier before, but now I almost feel as if I know her. That’s how familiar her voice has become. It’s a strange sensation, I don’t think this has happened to me since I was 10 and experiencing Harry Potter for the first time.

I know its customary when reviewing a book to describe the story, but I don’t think I can do that here, for two reasons. Firstly, I wouldn’t be able to do it justice. Secondly, I would hate to spoil this gem for anybody. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone, the quality of the writing is awesome, and there are hundreds of passages that are described so magnificently that the characters and settings seem to simply materialize before your eyes.

There is no doubt in my mind that I will read more of Du Maurier’s work- all of them if I can track them down. She has certainly acquired a fan in me!

2 thoughts on “Rebecca

  1. Pingback: Book Chat | Doing it the Open Way

  2. Pingback: 1,001 Books | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

