Day School Numero Uno

Today was my first Day School of the year (for A215-Creative Writing). I have to say it did a lot to calm my nerves. I’ve still been feeling slightly traumatized by the overactive participants of the Student Cafe, but my tutor was really nice and everyone else in the group was perfectly harmless…

Now I’m only terrified by the prospect of doing a poetry assignment.

The day was very relaxed, we did a lot of creative writing activities and then shared our ideas with the group. That was a new experience for me- I’m always very guarded about showing people anything I’ve done myself be it art or writing… It’s just really worrying putting yourself in the position to be judged. Or that’s what I thought, but it was actually strangely liberating. Plus everyone was really constructive (which helped). Who knows? One of these days I might even feel brave enough to put something onto that dreaded online forum…

Anyway, I need to go make some din-dins and do some work before the Xfactor, so bye bye!

2 thoughts on “Day School Numero Uno

  1. Good luck to you Darragh – it’s good to get started, my OU forum opened last week, so I’m getting back to study now. During the summer though I took a creative writing class and had the daunting experience of sharing our work with the group. It was quite a challenge, but I was really struck by how willing people were to share their work and also the level of emotion that intertwined the pieces. Good luck with your poetry. Keep us posted I would be interested to know how you get on.

    Jacqueline

  2. “It’s just really worrying putting yourself in the position to be judged. Or that’s what I thought, but it was actually strangely liberating.”
    I know the feeling, I once took a course of photography and creative writing and we had two tutors, one photographer and a writer.The first assignment was to make a portrait of another member of the group not with a photo camera but writing it. And having to read it in front of the group was …terrific ! But when I did it first time than everything else was easier.
    robert

Leave a Reply

