Wuthering Heights

What can I say about Wuthering Heights? Really, the only thing that comes to mind is that it made me want to cry. Not because it was a tragedy, but because it was so… disappointing! Before starting I didn’t really know more about the story than you can glean from the Kate Bush song. I was expecting a tempestuous and heartbreaking love story, but instead I got a fairly mundane tale of tepid characters. Most of them were just generally unappealing, but then there was Linton who I think I may actively despise…

I’m not completely condemning Emily Bronte, I think she had a great style, and there are so many sections of the book that are beautifully written. I just feel like it could have been so much more. The hype didn’t help, almost everyone I know told me how much I was going to love it because bla blaa blaaa. I know it’s probably not fair, but I kept finding myself comparing it to Jane Eyre (something I could read over and over). Needless to say, I probably won’t be reading this one again.

My feelings for this text made writing about “the representation of home in Wuthering Heights” an arduous ordeal. And I’ve started noticing a theme in A230, most of the books they’ve got us to read so far have been absolute fun-suckers.  But it’s ok, I’ve got through it (although it was touch and go for a while) and am looking forward to a future of Sherlock Holmes  and Robert Louis Stevenson. Just keep your fingers crossed for me and my awful assignment!

6 thoughts on “Wuthering Heights

  1. Hehehe. I sympathise with this post so much. I’m doing A230 at the moment too (and I’m 20 as well =)) and this book, it just sucked the life out of me. I couldn’t stand it, writing the assignment was torturous. I’m enjoying reading your blog because you seem to have the same thoughts on the set texts as I do!
    And you’re doing A215, and I’m doing that next year with E303, as my free module for my degree, so it’s interesting to see your reactions to it, as I’m really looking forward to doing some creative writing!
    Katie x

  2. Pingback: Reading Challenge 2012, the final count | Doing it the Open Way

  3. Pingback: 1,001 Books | Doing it the Open Way

  4. Pingback: {Top Ten Tues} Most Intimidating Books | Doing it the Open Way

  5. Pingback: Seven Sins of Reading | Doing it the Open Way

  6. Pingback: On Banned Books | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

