What to do?

I’m moving house on Wednesday. This means that packing and categorizing and labeling and cleaning have provided a nice little distraction from my usual June-time dilemma…

What do I do now that exams are over??

I always feel the need to embark on some sort of project over the summer; I find it really hard to relax like a normal person. After copious research (a.k.a. reading an inappropriate amount of blog posts during lunch hours) I’ve come up with a few ideas:

  1. Carry on with my ‘reading for fun’ resolution.
  2. Read all the set books for my next module.
  3. Start training for the Poppy Run, which I am hoping to take part in, in October.
  4. Start testing out some of the recipes that have made their way into my extensive collection (as much fun as improvising is, it defeats the object of hoarding recipes if I don’t use them).
  5. Finish the rag rug I promised to make for my friend… I’m thinking it might have to be a Happy Flativersary gift rather than a Housewarming present.
  6. Learn how to use the damn sewing machine! I’m determined to not be crap at sewing. My Auntie suggests starting with something a monkey could do, like just sewing squares together… sounds achievable. 😀
  7. Learn how to include photos in my blog posts (and for that matter, write more blog posts).
  8. Start writing for fun again- I feel like the only writing I’ve been doing for the past few months has been for study or work purposes. I’d just really like to start enjoying it again.
  9. Go camping.
  10. Start dance lessons (I’m feeling something Latin, maybe Salsa or Bachata?)
  11. Try to last the whole summer without eating a packet of biscuits in one sitting. And maybe cut down on cheese. (I said MAYBE).
  12. Unpack.

Whether I will actually do all of these things this summer, I don’t know. But I am going to try. I’ll keep you posted.

So how about you guys? What are you going to do with your months of (relative) freedom?

Leave a Reply

