Art Journal Every Day

Today I’ve been trying to think about all the things I do to try to unwind… for some reason that list is pretty short. There only seems to be one thing that de-stresses me without fail, and that is keeping an art journal.

I know I’ve mentioned art journals once before, but I think they need mentioning again. They have saved my life (or rather, saved the lives of people who’ve REALLY irritated me) on numerous occasions. When I’m angry, I’ll scribble all over a page, when I’m upset I might treat it like a diary and write down all my thoughts, when I’m bored I’ll doodle, etc… Up until now my art journal has been a VERY private place. It’s not something I like to share with my friends or family. To tell the truth I don’t want to hear people telling me it’s no good, because I enjoy doing it so much! But, I’ve decided to take the next step. I’m going to join an online group and share my work with people who like to do what I do.

I’ve been obsessively reading Julie Fei-Fan Balzer’s blog for over a year now, and I’ve always refrained from joining her mini art-journaling community. But now, I’m going to do it! I’m going to go along with her ‘Art Journal Every day’ challenge and try to do a little bit of something creative every day. I may not be able to stick to it, but one thing’s for sure… I’m not going to be scared by what other people might say. (Besides I’m protected by my ability to just turn off the computer, right?)

These are some of the pages I’ve done over the past few months, some of them I love, some of them I think are hideous, but that’s the beauty of an art journal. It doesn’t have to be perfect!

 

Enjoy!

P.S. For more info on ‘Art Journal Every Day’ or just some general inspiration, click here.

P.P.S. Apologies for the rubbish quality of the pics, this was my first attempt at uploading photos…

8 thoughts on “Art Journal Every Day

  1. Hello, found your blog via Julie. I share your fear of sharing my work…I actually have a ton of fears concerning my art. Many of which freeze me in my tracks. I wanted to tell you that I think your pages are wonderful…keep sharing!
    Dawn

    • Thank you Dawn, I really appreciate that, and I love that people have had such lovely things to say… (but I’m also slightly dreading the day I get my first ‘hate’ comment!)

  2. You seem to excel at “firsts”…..you did well with the photos being the first time uploading and your pages show great imagination and creativity. Keep up the good work!

  3. Hooray!! Good for you!! I’m exactly the same…been “stalking” Julie’s blog, ooh-ing and ah-ing over everyone’s art, yet not jumping in. I took a deep breath and posted my first art on my own blog last week, linking to Julie’s Friday list. Your pages are stunning, thoughttful, and intricate. I love them!!

  4. Hooray to you for joining us at AJED! These are some very cool pages-I especially love the first one with her tentacle -like strands of hair!

Leave a Reply

