Being disorderly…

“One of the advantages of being disorderly is that one is constantly making exciting discoveries.” – A. A. Milne

The man who dreamt up Eeyore was undoubtedly very wise…

I spent most of my weekend unpacking boxes. A more organized person than myself would have probably sorted through their belongings before boxing them up and dragging to the new house. But not I. I’m slightly ashamed to say I swept the contents of my desk into a box without even looking at what was in there; the same can be said of all drawers, shelves and wardrobes… but in my defense I  had very little time to do all this packing- my last exam came three days before the moving date. Obviously I did not know at the time that the moving date would be pushed back four times…

Anyway, as I was saying, my packing was disorderly. I assumed that this would make the unpacking torturous and time consuming, and I was slightly right. However, the rediscovering of things forgotten was great. I got to organize all my art supplies into one place (instead of constantly being surrounded by teetering piles), all my clothes got hung up in my new wardrobe and things got sorted into shiny new storage boxes. (I fully acknowledge that I am sad and easy to please.) As I was going through all of my random piles of crap, it was just so, so easy to get distracted! I kept finding new things I wanted to read, or watch, or play with. And I’ve definitely found inspiration for my ‘Art Journal Every Day’ project… exciting!

Having said that, if I’m AWOL for a few days, it just means I’ve reached the less than exciting boxes (bank statements, pay slips, phone bills…) and am endeavouring to get them out of the way.

Enjoy your Mondays!

Leave a Reply

