Rose in Bloom

Growing up, Eight Cousins by Louisa May Alcott was probably my favourite book. I’ve read it over and over again, dreaming about what could have happened to the characters I’d grown to love once the story had come to an end. And I always felt that it was underappreciated- none of my friends had even heard of it, despite having been bewitched by Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy in Little Women… So when I was browsing through a free e-book site, looking for Northangar Abbey, I discovered Rose in Bloom… the SEQUEL. I was so excited, the child in me had a manic giggling fit (unfortunately, as I was in public, this had to remain internal).

But if I’m honest I didn’t love it as much I was expecting to. I wasn’t particularly disappointed in the route the story took, nothing too despicable happened to my favourite characters and the ending was pretty satisfying…. the problem with closure is just that though. The story comes to a close. I can no longer imagine an alternate ending, and THAT is what stopped me from loving this book. I enjoyed my imaginary adventures with Rose and her cousins.

Can the same be said of any sequel? I’m not sure… maybe it was because I love the first installment soooo much?

It may not be what I was hoping for, but it was an enjoyable read. Louisa May Alcott has a way of creating imperfect characters that any reader can relate to and she doesn’t let herself down here. I’d definitely recommend if you’re looking for a whimsical escape to a land of courting, cousins and Campbells!

One thought on “Rose in Bloom

  1. Pingback: Reading Challenge 2012, the final count | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

