Out to Lunch Art Challenge – Setting Out

Sometimes I feel like I’m in a rut, creatively speaking. I’ve tried browsing online for tips/ideas, and everyone seems to be saying “look to your surroundings for inspiration”. Blah! I spend most of my like at work, in Nottingham City Centre, which is not the most visually pleasing of places… So I tried looking for arty challenges that I could take part in- I tend to do better work when following some sort of guideline and I couldn’t really find anything…

But as I was moseying down to Tesco during my lunch hour, I realized… I should start my own Art challenge! And what would make it a particularly challenging challenge? Using something from my less than lovely surroundings as inspiration! Perfect!

Now if anyone wants to play along with me, feel free. The rules are as follows:

  1. Go out one lunch time and pick an image from your surroundings to use as inspiration- it can be something you love, something you hate, something you see every day or something you’ve never noticed before. Go wild! OR use the image I post if you want.
  2. Make something based on your picture- it could be an entire art journal page, or homemade collage paper; it could be a scrapbook layout or a Zentangle; it could be a cushion cover, a large-scale painting, a sculpture, a stencil… The whole point is to play around, and look for ideas. And if it’s total rubbish and you hate it, so what?!
  3. You don’t have to do this every day, every week, or even every month. I’m setting myself the goal of having a bash once a week, but maybe you’re just looking for a quick jumpstart… that’s fine too.

I’ll be giving this challenge a test-run for the next two months, and we’ll see where it goes from there.

Watch this space for my first Out to Lunch experiment (which should be heading your way later today).

D x

P.S. If you do fancy joining me in my new Arty challenge, I’d love it if you would link back to me, and send me a link to whatever you create so I can have a nosey!

8 thoughts on “Out to Lunch Art Challenge – Setting Out

  1. Pingback: ‘Out to Lunch’ Art Challenge: Two tone bricks | Doing it the Open Way

  2. Pingback: ‘Out to Lunch’ Art Challenge – Orion | Doing it the Open Way

  3. Pingback: ‘Out to Lunch’ Art Challenge – Curvy Grill | Doing it the Open Way

  4. Pingback: ‘Out to Lunch’ Art Challenge – Air Hockey | Doing it the Open Way

  5. Pingback: ‘Out to Lunch’ Art Challenge – Finding Fonts | Doing it the Open Way

  6. Pingback: ‘Out to Lunch’ Art Challenge – Breaking up space | Doing it the Open Way

  7. Pingback: “Out to Lunch” Art Challenge – Playing with skulls | Doing it the Open Way

  8. Pingback: “Out to Lunch” Art Challenge – The Finale | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

