Art Journal Every Day – Doodles Unleashed (Week 2, 3, 4)

I am slightly in love with this workshop (Traci Bautista’s Doodles UNLEASHED class), which is why I’ve crammed what should have been three weeks of work into about three days.

First of all I’d like to say a big thank you to Joanna for her feedback on my post last week. I took her advice and added some white-out pen to my painting, and I love how it looks!

Week 2 was all about making spontaneous watercolour backgrounds, and here is mine:

This is my favourite section (below) – I love the shape created by this ‘found’ stencil (a gold star to anyone who can guess what it is). But overall, I don’t love this piece, I just don’t think the colours look right together. I’ll definitely cut it up and use it somewhere though.

Week 3 involved creating more backgrounds, and also some collage paper. I had a false start with this one. I created this background:

But completely DESTROYED it (accidentally). So I had another bash, and created this:

I love this one so much, the patterns and the colours are so much more ‘me’ than the last one.

We also made a bit of homemade collage paper in preparation for ‘next week’ (which was actually a couple of hours later for me). Traci used India ink on newsprint, but I didn’t have either, so I went for permanent marker on old fax paper. One thing I love about this workshop is that it’s all about using what you have lying around.

In Week 4 Traci showed us how to create stylized faces. Initially I struggled with this (this is what destroyed my first background), but I love my second attempt:

I’m not great at drawing people accurately, so it was great to do something whimsical, that didn’t have to be realistic… it took all the frustration out of it for me!

I adored this workshop so much, I’ve gone straight over to Amazon and ordered both of Traci’s books; now I just can’t wait for them to arrive!

I hope you’ve all had a great week, and don’t forget to check out Julie’s AJED post!

3 thoughts on “Art Journal Every Day – Doodles Unleashed (Week 2, 3, 4)

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier and introducing me to Tamara de Lempicka! I’ve come across her work before but never knew who painted those images until now. I’ve also been looking at Tracie’s online doodle classes but never got round to actually doing the exercises. It looks like a lot of fun though so maybe I’ll get to it soon! I like the colours and patterns on your pages. For some reason I have yet to discover, I am not very good at doodling or making whimsical patterns… 🙂 I’ll be back to see how you find her books!

Leave a Reply

