Northanger Abbey

So I’ve finally finished the first of my set books! It’s weird that it has taken me sooo long, because it’s the smallest of the lot!

I’ve never read anything by Jane Austen before (shock, horror!) despite obsessively watching Sense and Sensibility over and over since I was about seven. I can understand why everyone raves about her, she has this quaint, gentle tone that lends to easy reading. There’s nothing outrageous, nothing shocking.

A couple of slight negatives- it was very predictable. I’d guessed the ending by the time I’d read the first few chapters. Also, there were a couple of characters that were a total pain- simpering, moronic clichés. I do think that is what Ms Austen was aiming for though, so she did a good job.

I’ll go into deeper analysis when I’m actually studying it, but for now I’m moving on to the next book on my list.

Bye for now.

D x

6 thoughts on “Northanger Abbey

  1. Pingback: Reading Update – August 2012 | Doing it the Open Way

  2. Pingback: Reading Challenge 2012, the final count | Doing it the Open Way

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Reads for Spring – 2013 | Doing it the Open Way

  4. Pingback: What?! EMA time again?! | Doing it the Open Way

  5. Pingback: 1,001 Books | Doing it the Open Way

  6. Pingback: The nineteenth-century novel | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

