What looms ahead…

My AA316, or ‘The nineteenth-century novel’, text books have now arrived in the post (along with shiny new copies of Dracula and The Heart of Darkness) and my course start date seems to be chasing me around the house like a maniac.

On the one hand, I can’t wait to get into the study part- I LOVE analysing texts and discovering things that I didn’t notice the first time round. I love meeting people at tutorials and debating the merits of different novels. I even (to a certain extent) enjoy writing assignments.

But right now I can’t help but feel like I’m not ready. I still have over half of my set texts to get through, and I definitely don’t have enough time to do that. I wonder how the other people about to embark on AA316 are feeling about them?? I’d love to be able to start working through the materials (who doesn’t appreciate a head start?!) but I just feel a little overcome by this wave of panic…

I’m about 98.3% sure that this is due to me obsessing about things that I have no control over, and procrastinating (and avoiding Dickens), so what I really need is to grit my teeth and just get on with it. Not as easy as it sounds though….

What about you fellow OU-ers out there? How are you feeling about the courses looming on the horizon?

Leave a Reply

