21 Secrets – JournalQuest

The next workshop on my ’21 Secrets’ list is Journal Quest by Tracie Hanson (check out her blog- she does really cool paintings). The general idea is that you create a spontaneous background and then try to find suggestions of images in the shapes you’ve created.

So here is my background:

And here is what I ‘excavated’ from it:

I found this workshop quite challenging for a number of reasons:

-I’m not used to doing double spreads. For some reason it feels quite weird after only ever doing single page pieces.

-I don’t usually do a lot of ‘painty’ work- most of my pieces have some paint but I tend to rely more on  pens, pencils and collage materials. I couldn’t restrain myself completely- I had to crack open my Papermania Metallic Markers for a bit of doodly fun.

-The painting I created was not in my usual style AT ALL. By trying to find an image in the existing shapes I had to push myself out of my comfort zone… I couldn’t just paint what I feel comfortable painting. One big difference can be seen in the eyes… I usually do really detailed over-the-top eyes on my faces but here I’ve kept them simple. Not sure how keen I am?

Although Journal Quest tested my boundaries, I think I’ll be using some of the principles of the class in future artwork. I like that it made me paint something a bit different, as sometimes I worry that my work is a bit ‘samey’. And also, it will give me purpose when attacking those pages I’ve used to clean off my palette:

These will definitely give me something to play around with over the weekend!

D x

7 thoughts on “21 Secrets – JournalQuest

  1. Wonderful first effort! I’m most fond of journaling in this fashion and teach it in my classes. Once you become accustomed to “seeing things” in the paint, you’re going to love it! :o)

  2. Oh you have wonderful pages ready to art on !! I like the concept of doing a background and finding imagery in it-you did a great job!!

    • Thanks- it was surprisingly difficult to let go of the things I usually draw and paint… but I suppose that’s good right? To challenge yourself as an artist?

  3. Pingback: Art Journal Every Day: For When Your Brain Deserts You. | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

