Fall Fearless and Fly – Challenge 3

So it’s time for me to share my response to the latest ‘Fall Fearless and Fly‘ challenge. These are the third set of prompts:

Headline Prompt:  Triumphs and Defeats:  What do you see as your greatest triumphs or defeats?  What have they taught you?  Which have you learned more from?
Color Prompt: 
Black and white
Quote Prompt:
Not in the clamor of the crowded street, not in the shouts and plaudits of the throng, but in ourselves, are triumph and defeat.  Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

As usual I tried to cram all three of the prompts into my page. Here is how I created this spread:

1. Using black and white watercolours I doodled patterns across a two page spread.

2. I added more doodles with a black felt tip. I think I must have had the latest Inspiration Avenue post in my mind, because I seemed to come out with mandalas…

3. In silver gel pen I copied out the quote, and in black ink I wrote my answer to the ‘headline prompt’. As a finishing touch I added a bit of white out pen.

And here is the final page:

Things I’ve learnt from this challenge:

1. Leaving colour behind is genuinely torturous.

2. Sometimes torture yields some positive results… I do quite like how this page has turned out!

Hope you’re having a great weekend!

D x

16 thoughts on “Fall Fearless and Fly – Challenge 3

  1. i love your black and white designs. Yes, it’s not easy to think sans color. I love color too much to do very many art things in black and white. Yours turned out really beautiful.

Leave a Reply

