TMA 1 – Done and Dusted

This is my 100th blog post! I haven’t been the most faithful blogger since I started, but I think I’m getting slightly better… It’s been great fun and I hope to keep going at this pace for the rest of the year. Anyway, back to the topic of this post: assignments!

I managed to submit my first AA316 Assignment without too much procrastination… I think there comes a point when you just need to stop looking at it, grit your teeth and press send.

Like I said before the Jane Eyre question seemed better than the Northanger Abbey option; I don’t know what I would have written for the other one. However, Jane Eyre wasn’t the easiest book for me to write about… the problem is it’s one of my favourites. I’ve read it so so so many times, I just couldn’t bear to pick it apart in the same way I would with most novels.

This year my seems great… less than 24 hours after the deadline it was marked and ready for me to download! I am pretty pleased with my mark but it’s not the best ever. My tutor made some good comments about how I can improve my analytical skills and the structuring of my essays… so I definitely have something to work on for next time. But you know what, this was my first Level 3 assignment so I’m not going to beat myself up about those few points that would have made my grade better.

I’ve barely had time to breathe a sigh of relief and already my next deadline seems to be looming in the distance… these are my options:

(a)    Consider the importance of female friendship in Northanger Abbey.

(b)   How significant is slavery to the central themes of Jane Eyre?

(c)    How are relationships between adults and children represented in Dombey and Son?

We can pick whichever we want, as long as don’t write about the novel we chose for TMA 1.

I’m feeling more inclined towards the third option… I think this looks like a really great question, there’s a lot to write about, and as a book I definitely enjoyed Dombey & Son more than Northanger Abbey; it’s just a bit grittier.

Which question would you choose?

D x

Leave a Reply

