Art Journal Every Day: For When Your Brain Deserts You.

This week has been crazy work-wise, and when I got home last night I planned on doing more work but my brain had pretty much left the building. So instead, I opened up my art journal to a painted background and let my mind wander:

1. Background created using JournalQuest technique:

JQ Background

2. Gold writing (the lyrics to a Pink Floyd song):

DSCN1128

3. Collaged blocks of colour ripped from an old magazine:

DSCN1131

4. Random doodles using a correction pen:

DSCN1132

5. Focus image added (stolen from an Armani advert):

DSCN1133

6. Black acrylic spread across the background using an old card and voila!:

DSCN1134

I really like the way the correction pen peeps through the black paint, and I’m definitely loving this whole layered look. This photo doesn’t really do the page justice, but no matter how I tried, I couldn’t get the light to stop bouncing off the shiny magazine paper… It was nice to have a reminder of how fun brainless art is!

Hope you’ve all had a great week!

D x

P.S. Linking this up to Art Journal Every Day, Quirky Crafts and Poisoned Peas.

11 thoughts on “Art Journal Every Day: For When Your Brain Deserts You.

  1. Wow – I am so inspired by your process here. At any of these stages, I might have stopped, afraid to cover up what I’d done. But what you ended up with is something that has so much depth and is just gorgeous! Thanks for your visit to my blog today too.

  2. Excellent – love these pages. It’s awesomely clever and such a brilliant creation when you were ‘brain dead’. 🙂 Thank you for playing along at Poisoned Peas 🙂 x

  3. what a great process-love how this turned out!! I too like the corrective pen peeking out from the background. Thanks for sharing at AJED!

  4. Fabulous as always Daire, very quirky, and I have just realised you are on WordPress, and I might be able to pick your brains on setting up a blog for someone else on it!

  5. Brilliant job here. Thank you for sharing with us at Poisoned Peas Please blog for our “Walking Dead” challenge!
    Peace,
    Kristy
    (PPP DT)

Leave a Reply

