Breakfast at Tiffany’s

Breakfast at Tiffany's

I’ve never seen Breakfast at Tiffany’s, by Truman Capote, but I’ve heard people rave about it. I always imagined some sort of glamorous romance, but maybe that’s just what I associate with Audrey Hepburn?

Obviously I came crashing back down to Earth as I read the damn book…  I rarely say this about any work of literature but I genuinely think it was a waste of paper. It wasn’t that I didn’t like the story, it’s that there was no story. Essentially, a group of insipid characters spend too much money, avoid having real jobs and lie to each other about everything. If that’s what I wanted to experience I’d be watching The Real Housewives of New York (because at least they are moderately entertaining).

The one positive thing I could say is that it’s a very short book, so I wasn’t torturing myself for too long. But it was a waste of an afternoon.

Sorry. Obviously I’m in a bit of a cantankerous mood… I’m just dying for a really gripping book. I have so little time to actually read that it just drives me crazy when I waste that time on total rubbish!

So who wants to be controversial? Do any of you love Breakfast at Tiffany’s and want to prove me wrong?

D

8 thoughts on “Breakfast at Tiffany’s

  1. I guess these kinds of books are better off as movies :/
    Have you watched the movie? It wasn’t that great of a plot, but I guess Audrey Hepburn was what made it a good movie. And of course Gregory Peck. Gregory Peck is great 😉
    I haven’t actually read the book, but was planning to, but judging by your review, I don’t really want to read it any more…
    Anyways, if you haven’t watched the movie, watch it! it’s a very lovely movie 🙂

  2. “Essentially, a group of insipid characters spend too much money, avoid having real jobs and lie to each other about everything.”

    I haven’t read the book but I have seen the movie and that quote above pretty much summed up my thoughts. I was disappointed. I’m surprised it’s so well loved, although I suppose Audrey Hepburn can bring a bit of life to anything. . . plus there’s the song “Moon River,” and a touching scene at the end where she finds her missing cat in the rain and realizes people (and cats, I guess) can “belong to eachother.” I love the trench coat she wears in the movie, too. But other than those elements I thought it was pretty vapid.

    • Thank you for your comment! I love ‘Moon River’ so I might watch it just for that (and for the fact that I have it sitting on the shelf in my Audrey Hepburn collection!) D x

  3. Pingback: Reading Challenge 2012, the final count | Doing it the Open Way

  4. Pingback: 1,001 Books | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

