Reading Challenge 2012, the final count

So now that Christmas is over I’ve started to think about New Years (which means resolutions), I think I’ll have a few for 2013! This year, I only had one… to read one book for fun each month. This resolution then morphed into me reading 31-40 books in the year, and then later 41-50. It’s the first time I’ve ever kept to a resolution, much less surpassed one! Seeing as you’ve been along for the ride with me for the past few months, I thought I’d share my grand total [insert drumroll] 45! Here’s the final list:

The Life and Loves of a She-Devil by Fay Weldon
Juliet by Anne Fortier
One Day by David Nicholls
The Prophet by Khalil Gibran
The Heroines by Eileen Favorite
Doghouse Roses by Steve Earle
A Daughter of the Sioux by Charles King
Salmon Fishing in the Yemen by Paul Torday
Echoes by Maeve Binchy
The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows
The Adventures of Maya the Bee by Waldemar Bonsels
Diary by Chuck Palahnuik
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
The Sign of Four by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Dancing at Lughnasa by Brian Friel
Dubliners by James Joyce
The Confessions of an English Opium Eater by Thomas de Quincey
The Sandman by ETA Hoffman
A Narrative of the Most Remarkable Particulars in the life of James Albert Ukawsaw Gronniosaw, an African Prince, as Related by Himself.
The Beach of Falesa by Robert Louis Stevenson
The Liar by Stephen Fry
Rose in Bloom by Louisa May Alcott
The Intimate Confessions of a London Call Girl by Belle de Jour
Fall Love by Anne Whitehouse
Dial M for Monkey by Adam Maxwell
50 Shades of Grey/50 Shades Darker/50 Shades Freed by EL James
Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
The Abortionist’s Daughter by Elisabeth Hyde
Middlemarch by George Eliot
Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert
Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy
Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffeneger
Dombey and Son by Charles Dickens
The L-Shaped Room by Lynee Reid Banks
206 Bones by Kathy Reichs
Portrait of a Lady by Henry James
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
The Awakening by Kate Chopin
Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote
The Help by Kathryn Stockett
Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell
Don’t Blink by James Patterson
Frank Sinatra has a cold and other stories by Guy Talese

I managed to triple the amount of books I read in 2011, so I’m pretty chuffed with myself! I’ve decided to host my very own reading challenge starting in January, so make sure you come back and check it out!

Enjoy the rest of your holidays,
D x

Leave a Reply

