Cloud Atlas

This is a slightly odd book. And that is a slight understatement. Basically it contains six different stories that are linked by the reincarnation of the same soul. I think.

I found the first five chapters excruciating! They only tell half of each story, and all end on a huge cliff hanger… and then I had to wait what felt like forever to find out what happens.

Each individual story is really really good, and full of very original twists. And Mitchell changes his narrative tone to suit each story, which I think is great… it sort of adds an extra layer of authenticity. He has created a pool of rich, layered characters that you can’t help but empathise with (no matter how insipid you’d find them in real life…)

Out of the six stories I would describe two as phenomenal, two as great and two as reasonably good, but this is purely based on my generic preferences (I just personally enjoy crime drama and sci-fi to social realism and tribal tales).
If you like a challenge, I’d definitely recommend this book to you. If you don’t, I’d probably tell you to shut up and read it anyway! One thing is certain; I can’t wait unti the film comes out!

D x

4 thoughts on “Cloud Atlas

  1. Pingback: “Cloud Atlas”: From good guy, to killer, to savage « Radu presents: The Movie-Photo Blog

  2. Pingback: Whimsical Reading – Numbers | Doing it the Open Way

  3. Pingback: 1,001 Books | Doing it the Open Way

  4. Pingback: “Cloud Atlas”: From good guy, to killer, to savage | Radu Ștefan prezintă: Blogu' de filme

Leave a Reply

