Let’s call it a treasure hunt – Reading Challenge 2013

BeFunky_Whimsicalreadingchallenge.jpg

Last year I tried to take part in a couple of reading challenges. They were ok, I managed to stick to them and everything, but they weren’t particularly challenging. I kind of just ended up reading what I would have read anyway…
So this year I’m proposing a reading challenge of sorts that pretty much involve judging a book by its cover.
Basically I’m going to give you a list of topics, and you have to read a book with each of those things in the title. (I’ll be doing it too). There is no time limit for this challenge, and there will be no prize, it is simply a whimsical way to get through those stacks of books you’ve ‘always’ intended on reading. If you want to leave me a comment, or send me a message about the books you’ve picked for each category, please do. If you want to leave me a link to your blog, go for it, I PROMISE to come and check you out. So without further ado, here is your list of scavenger hunt clues:
– Weather
– Something you’d find in space
– Geological formation
– A colour
– A farmyard animal
– A zoo animal
– A type of building
– A profession
– An illness
– A month
– A country
– A girl’s name
– A boy’s name
– A body of water
– A mode of transportation
– A kind of food
– A kind of drink
– A feeling
– A flower
– A hobby you have
– A hobby you don’t have
– Something made of metal
– Something made of wood
– Something made of plastic
– A toy or game
– A family relationship
– A number
– A mythical creature
– A shape
– Something you’d wear
– Something you don’t like
– Something scientific
– A question mark
– A precious stone
– A bird
– A time of day
The whole point is to have fun with this, and maybe to read something you wouldn’t usually have picked…. If you think you might like to play along leave me a comment or a link below and I’ll come over for a visit!
D x

27 thoughts on “Let’s call it a treasure hunt – Reading Challenge 2013

  1. This is a great idea for a reading challenge! I’ve done reading challenges on Goodreads and found that, yes, I complete them, but just end up reading what I would have read anyway :-). I think I might just have to join you! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. This is fun! I hope you don’t mind but I shared on facebook (as a link to your blog of course) with my friends. Not sure I will make it through all the categories as my goal is to get through the Game of Thrones series this year, but I will definitely take this list into consideration for when I’m stuck with nothing to read 🙂

  3. Pingback: Whimsical Reading Challenge – ‘Weather’ | Doing it the Open Way

  4. Pingback: Whimsical Reading Challenge – Colour | Doing it the Open Way

  5. Pingback: Quirky Crafts – Rainbow Bright | Doing it the Open Way

  6. Pingback: Whimsical Reading Challenge – Profession | Doing it the Open Way

  7. Pingback: Whimsical Checklist | Doing it the Open Way

  8. Pingback: Whimsical Reading – Zoo Animals | Doing it the Open Way

  9. Pingback: “The Sculptor” | Doing it the Open Way

  10. Pingback: The Death and Life of Charlie St Cloud | Doing it the Open Way

  11. Pingback: Whimsical Reading – Numbers | Doing it the Open Way

  12. Pingback: “Teaching the Pig to Dance: A Memoir of Growing Up and Second Chances” | Doing it the Open Way

  13. Pingback: Whimsical Reading – Farmyard Animals | Doing it the Open Way

  14. Pingback: “Mirror, Mirror” | Doing it the Open Way

  15. Pingback: Whimsical Reading – Illness | Doing it the Open Way

  16. Pingback: “The Jewel Box” | Doing it the Open Way

  17. Pingback: Whimsical Reading – Mythical Creatures | Doing it the Open Way

  18. Pingback: “The Draining Lake” | Doing it the Open Way

  19. Pingback: “Island Beneath the Sea” | Doing it the Open Way

  20. Pingback: Whimsical Reading – Feelings | Doing it the Open Way

  21. Pingback: “The Woman in White” | Doing it the Open Way

  22. Pingback: “March” | Doing it the Open Way

  23. Pingback: Whimsical Reading – Countries | Doing it the Open Way

  24. Pingback: 2013 Reading Challenges | I Like Big Books

Leave a Reply

