Whimsical Reading Challenge – ‘Weather’

BeFunky_Whimsicalreadingchallenge.jpg

Last week I welcomed you to join me on whimsical reading challenge, which involves choosing books based on the words in their titles.

It has since been brought to my attention that it may be a bit on the tricky side for those of us who don’t have an extensive library in their living room. So to help you along, I thought I’d write a post each week with a few ideas of books you could pick.

I’m going to try and spread my wings quite far with regards to genre, but these will still all be books I have read, or have on my shelves.  If I can actually come up five books for each of these categories, I’ll be amazed!

So without further ado, here are my suggestions for the ‘weather’:

1. Nights of Rain and Stars by Maeve Binchy

This is one of Maeve Binchy’s more recent novels, and is one of the few not set in or around Dublin. She has the true gift of a story teller and starting one of her books is like being given a huge cup of tea and a big hug.

2. Miss Smilla’s Feeling for Snow by Peter Hoeg

ON MY ‘TO BE READ’ PILE – the turquoise cover is what originally attracted me to this book, but I think I might actually enjoy reading this Scandinavian crime drama as well as looking at it.

3. Windchill Summer by Norris Church Mailer

Probably one of my favourite books of my teenage years (but probably not intended for teenage girls). Set in the midst of the Vietnam War in a teeny American town, this tells the story of a group of friends who have to deal with a murder of someone they know. A truly excellent book. I might have to crack it out again for a reread!

4. A Perfect Storm

ON MY ‘TO BE READ’ PILE – I watched the film (partially because of the George Clooney thing) but I didn’t really like it. I’m a fan of the happy ending and I’m not ashamed to admit it. However, I bought the book as part of a set (I like buying full sets of things, they fool me into thinking my bookshelves are organised), and I have been told ye a fellow reader that the prose is beautiful, so for now it will remain on my TBR pile.

5. Anne of Windy Willows

Number four in the Anne of Green Gables series and doesn’t disappoint. I adored these when I was little, and I ADORED the mini-series (which I think was made in the late eighties), so much so that I begged my mum to dye my hair ginger. Unfortunately, she refused.

If you can think of any more, or fancy joining in with me, leave a comment below!

D x

4 thoughts on “Whimsical Reading Challenge – ‘Weather’

  1. I’ve got “Shadow of the Wind” by Carlos Ruiz Zafon on my list for weather. Or how about “The Year of the Flood” by Margaret Atwood?

    And for those that don’t have an extensive library in their living room, don’t forget to check out your local public library – there is much fun to be had in browsing the titles on the lookout for one of your treasure items 😉

    • So true, I miss my old library… the one near my new house has about 40 books, most of which I’ve read! I actually have “Shadow of the Wind” sitting on my shelf…. another TBR!

  2. Oh, what a fun challenge. I must have missed the original post. I’ll play. Hmm, I’ve got “It Always Rains in Rome” by John F. Leeming. I bought it years ago at a used book sale because I liked the title but have yet to read it. I don’t even know what it’s about as it appears to be missing it’s dust jacket. . . so no info on the back cover or inside flap.

    If it proves too boring, I have a backup– “A Fatal Winter” by G.M. Malliet. 🙂

    • Welcome! Well I’ve never even heard of either of those, so you should defintely let me know what you think, I’m always on the hunt for reccommendations!

Leave a Reply

