Whimsical Reading Challenge – Colour

BeFunky_Whimsicalreadingchallenge.jpg

Apologies for my absence, I’ve been locked in a world of critical essays and Harvard referencing for the past few days, but now I’m back!

Today I’m going to share a few more suggestions for my Whimsical Reading Challenge, this time on the topic of ‘colour’.

1. The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
This is my next set book for AA316, my current Open University course. Apparently it’s quite Gothic and scandalous so it should be a good read, plus it comes highly recommended by my Grandma!

2. The Red Tent by Anita Diamant
ON MY TO BE READ PILE. This is a retelling of the story of Dinah, a barely hinted at character from the Book of Genesis. I think reinterpreting bible stories can be a bit of a hazardous way to go, as some people can get a bit sensitive… but I’m fascinated by the historical aspects so hopefully I won’t be disappointed.

3. Roses are Red/Violets are Blue by James Patterson
ON MY TO BE READ PILE. I think James Patterson is a genius (as should any diehard fan of crime fiction) but I’ve never got round to reading either of these. I can usually get through one of his novels in about a day, so if I get a weekend to myself in the near future I might treat myself!

4. Scarlet Feather by Maeve Binchy
I will not apologise for loving Maeve Binchy, it just comes naturally. I have read and reread this book so many times that I feel like I know all of her characters. You will laugh, you will (try not to) cry and you’ll do both all over again. To me that’s the sign of a great book, the willingness to put yourself through it all over again!

5. Rose Madder by Stephen King
ON MY TO BE READ PILE. (For those of you who do not paint, ‘rose madder’ is a shade of pink.) I’ve never read a thing by Stephen King, but somehow I’ve ended up with a complete collection staring down at me from the shelves. He’s not on the top of my reading list right now, but the day will definitely come!

So tell me, have you come up with any ideas for your ‘colour’ inspired reading?

D x

3 thoughts on “Whimsical Reading Challenge – Colour

  1. I just started my book for “colour”. I’m going with “My Name is Red” by Orhan Pamuk. I will post an update on my blog soon. Enjoying the challenge 🙂

  2. Pingback: “The Woman in White” | Doing it the Open Way

  3. Pingback: Becoming Indigo | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

