Whimsical Reading Challenge – Profession

BeFunky_Whimsicalreadingchallenge.jpg

I have been reading like an absolute fiend recently… I go through these phases of obsessively reading everything I can lay my hands on from novels to poetry to blog posts to recipes to the back of the shower gel, and I think I’m in the midst of one right now!

To aid in your fiendish reading of books for my whimsical reading challenge, I’m back with a few more suggestions, this time on the theme of ‘professions’.

1. The Surgeon by Tess Gerritsen

It has been quite a while since I read this one… I think I was seventeen and just embarking on my crime fiction obsession… it was great. I literally could not put it down. I pulled an allnighter and read it in one sitting.

2. The Seamstress by Frances de Pontes Peebles

ON MY TO BE READ PILE. This book is about two sisters living in Brazil who end up separated and living very dramatic lives. It’s had some pretty good reviews, and I have it on my kindle, so I’ll probably read it at some point.

3. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

Everyone who has read this raves about it. Maybe I’m just a bit dense, because I didn’t really get the appeal. It’s quite a little book, so doesn’t take too long to read but I still couldn’t help feeling like it was a waste of time. I just found the narrative style quite disjointed, although there were some exquisite descriptive passages… I don’t know. Torn. Let me know what you think?

4. The Sculptor by Gregory Funaro

ON MY TO BE READ PILE. More crime fiction, which in case you haven’t noticed is one of my faves! This one sounds very edgy and original… according to the blurb the murders are linked to art history (specifically, Michelangelo’s sculptures) which I’m sure will be a nice contrast to the ‘forensicky’ crime novels that are everywhere at the moment.

5. The Abortionist’s Daughter by Elisabeth Hyde

I read this last year after having it on my shelf for a pretty long time… it was ok. Nothing life altering, but a pretty good story with some good imperfect characters (which is one of my personal ‘must haves’). I’d definitely recommend it as a holiday read, when you’re not feeling up to investing much brain function in your reading materials.

Let me know if you come up with any more ideas for ‘profession’ book titles.

D x

3 thoughts on “Whimsical Reading Challenge – Profession

  1. The Bone Setters Daughter by Amy Tan. I haven’t read it yet, but it looks rather interesting. (Amy Tan also wrote The Joy Luck Club, which I think is her most well-known book.)

    Or if you’re wanting something in the fantasy genre, Polgara The Sorcerer by David Eddings.

    • I have The Bone Setter’s Daughter on my bookshelf too… I also have another one by Amy Tan… I think it’s called The Kitchen God’s Wife? I remember reading a short story by her, and I fell so much in love with her style that I had to buy whatever I could find!

  2. Pingback: “The Sculptor” | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

