Whimsical Reading – Zoo Animals

BeFunky_Whimsicalreadingchallenge.jpg

I am not having a good day today. I forgot my kindle. I forgot my phone. My ipod died. I laddered my tights. I’ve just spent 6 hours doing invoicing. But I’m not here to cry about it, I’m here to share some more whimsical reading suggestions with you, this time on the theme of ‘zoo animals’.

1. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen.
ON MY TO BE READ PILE. I don’t know what attracted me to this book… the fact that it has the word ‘elephants’ in the title is a good starting point. The fact that it’s about an olde worlde circus troupe even more so. It has to be great, it just has to!

2. Dial M for Monkey by Adam Maxwell
Available as a free ebook from here. It’s one of those books of shorts stories that not everyone will be ‘cool enough’ to get. Most are reasonably amusing, some a little icky but all extremely original. A good read if you don’t have much time to invest in books, but I could say that about any short stories!

3. The Camel Club by David Baldacci
ON MY TO BE READ PILE. I’ve never read a thing by David Baldacci, but his books seem to fill every library and charity shop I ever enter which is encouragement enough for me. I’m not really one for reading ‘conspiracy theory’ novels, but who knows? I might be missing something great!

4. The Tiger in the Well by Phillip Pullman
This is the third book in his ‘Sally Lockhart’ series, and the only one I’ve read. All I can say is READ IT. It’s so good. So, so good. I’m constantly trying to find the rest so I can start from the beginning. The story is chock full of intrigue and the characters are so well rounded you start to think they actually exist. His narrative style just sucks you into 1880’s London, it’s magical!

5. Folktales from Africa: The Girl who Married a Lion by Alexander McCall Smith
I really want to love Alexander McCall Smith, very possibly because his book covers are all so gorgeous and colourful. But I really don’t. This is the only one of his I managed to battle my way through and it was still quite a chore. And I hate to say it because I’m definitely a ‘folk tale’ kind of person… I’m determined to give him another go at some point though, everyone else in the world can’t be wrong!

So have you got any ideas for your ‘zoo animal’ books?
D x

One thought on “Whimsical Reading – Zoo Animals

  1. I’ve read (or to be truthful I had the tapes) all Philip Pullman’s Golden Compass series, love the way he writes, shame their not going to make the second and third films, so I read somewhere, something about people not liking god being put in a box, although I’d thought there other things they could have moaned about.

Leave a Reply

