Whimsical Reading – Boy’s Names

BeFunky_Whimsicalreadingchallenge.jpg

I’m currently in the midst of a feverish Hunger Games marathon, but I thought I’d take a little break and come up with a few more suggestions for the whimsical reading challenge, this time on the theme of “Boy’s Names”:

1.Dear John by Nicholas Sparks
This is the first book I’ve read by Nicholas Sparks and I’d definitely recommend. His writing style is so effortless to read… I was done with this one in a day.

2.The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald
TO BE READ. My desire to read this was not inspired by Brad Pitt but by my borderline obsessive love for a certain Great Gatsby. After finishing Gatsby I went out of my way to track down every other book written by Mr Fitzgerald, and this one is at the top of my pile.

3.Harry Potter and the [insert as appropriate] by J.K. Rowling
I don’t think I know anyone who hasn’t read at least one Harry Potter book, and they are without a doubt worth a read. My favourite has always been #3 (The Prisoner of Azkaban), but that’s just personal preference… as is my intense disappointment at the #6 and #7, a disappointment that could only be remedied by starting at the beginning again. I plan to read through the whole series again at some point, but I’ll probably end with the battle scene, I just found that epilogue too sickening.

4.Raising Jake by Charlie Carillo
TO BE READ. Described on Goodreads as a ‘wry, heartwarming yet darkly funny novel’ about a slightly dysfunctional family, I think this right up my alley. I’ll let you know what I think!

5.The Death of Ivan Ilyich and Other Stories by Leo Tolstoy
This book was an apology present from the person that ruined Anna Karenina for me, and despite it being short stories, I really enjoyed it! There was just enough ‘grim’ to keep me entertained, and enough length to allow for bonding with characters… definitely a tick in the Russian Lit column!

So what about you guys? Have you come up with any “Boy’s Name” books yet?

D x

One thought on “Whimsical Reading – Boy’s Names

  1. Pingback: The Death and Life of Charlie St Cloud | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

