Whimsical Reading – Girl’s Names

BeFunky_Whimsicalreadingchallenge.jpg

I’m lost in a world of academic reading at the moment, but I thought I’d take a break and share a few more reading suggestions with you, this time for the ‘girl name’ category of my whimsical reading challenge:

1. Ophelia by Lisa Klein
This is a new take on Hamlet, but from the point of few of Ophelia. The thing I love about it is that it isn’t just a retelling of a story we all know, it just borrows the characters. I’ve read it a few times already and I’ll probably read it again soon enough.

2. Carrie by Stephen King
ON MY TO BE READ PILE. I have soo many Stephen King books taking up shelf space, and I haven’t read a single one! I also have it on DVD (and I haven’t watched that either…) I think this one might be a good one to start with, it’s nice and short, so I’ll be able to see if I like his style without investing too much time.

3. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
I read this for the first time when I was ten years old, and I have read it many times since. It just appeals to my inner romantic, I love it!

4. Lucrezia Borgia: Life, Love and Death in Renaissance Italy by Sarah Bradford
ON MY TO BE READ PILE. I recently read a book that featured a fictionalised version of Lucrezia Borgia, and it piqued my interest in the woman herself, so I downloaded this biography onto my kindle… should make for some decadent reading!

5. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
This is another I’ve read over and over. It’s quite short but it’s great, Levine has this way of weaving rich, magical stories that just suck you into another world. I’d definitely recommend to younger readers. (And if you love it as much as I do, read ‘The Princesses of Bamarre’)

These are just a selection that could be used for this category but there are sooo many more…. Emma, Anna Karenina, Alias Grace, Alice in Wonderland, Aurora Leigh…. The hard part is picking which one to read!

D x

One thought on “Whimsical Reading – Girl’s Names

  1. I agree that the hard part for this clue would be picking just one!! I read Carrie when I was about 16 and had nightmares for weeks – not planning to revisit that 😉

Leave a Reply

