Whimsical Reading – Food

BeFunky_Whimsicalreadingchallenge.jpg

Good afternoon my pretties! I’ve spent the past week or so wading through the seemingly endless pages of The Woman in White so I can’t wait to back to the whimsical reading challenge! Today I’m going to share a few more reading suggestions with you, this time on the theme of “food”. There is truly a limitless supply of books with food in the titles, these are just a few calling to me from my bookshelves:

1. The Mango Season by Amullya Malladi
TO BE READ. Set in contemporary India this promises both passion and controversy as a woman must choose between the man she loves and her very traditional family. It may not be set to win the Nobel prize for literature, but it looks like something I would enjoy (ie it has a gorgeous cover). It also has a great description on goodreads: “as sharp and intoxicating as sugarcane juice bought fresh from a market cart”, I feel like I’ve been swept into an exotic world of dust and spices already!

2. Watermelon by Marian Keyes
Admittedly, this is chick lit. But I promise you it’s funny chick lit. This is the first in a series chronicling the lives of the eccentric Walsh sisters and although Rachel’s Holiday is my fave, this is still worth a read.

3. The Ramen King and I: how the inventor of instant noodles fixed my love life by Andy Raskin
TO BE READ. My Granny would describe this as the memoir of a philanderer (and accompany said statement with a withering stare) but I how could I not get myself a copy with a title like that?! It sounds entirely bizarre, and I entirely can’t wait to read it!

4. Reality Sandwiches by Allen Ginsberg
In short, this book is intended for a more evolved mind than mine, because to be quite honest I considered it a pretentious waste of a bus journey. It kills me to say it, because I really want to love all poetry I come across, but I just can’t. Free verse can be a work of genius or a work of self-indulgence, and I have to say I think this is the latter. I did enjoy one line: “a naked lunch is natural to us/we eat reality sandwiches”, but other than that it’s quite un-memorable.

5. You Say Tomato, I Say Shut Up: A Love Story by Anabelle Gurwitch and Jeff Kahn
TO BE READ. This is a memoir of a couple of married comedians, so I’m hoping for some laughs. This is essentially a comparison of their perspectives on marriage and commitment, so I’m expecting The Ballad of Tom Jones in literary form (which in turn suggests absolute magnificence!), I’ll let you know!

As I said, there are mountains of books you could pick for this category, even if I just look up to another shelf I can see Chocolat, Toast, Driving Over Lemons, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Crocodile Soup…

If you’d like to share you choices, leave me a comment below!

D x

Leave a Reply

