Whimsical Reading – Numbers

BeFunky_Whimsicalreadingchallenge.jpg

Today I feel sooooo free! This is the biological reaction I seem to have whenever I press the ‘submit’ button for an assignment… and as this one was about one of my least favourite subjects (‘representations of women’) I think I got a double dose. I’m definitely giving myself a couple of days off from anything even remotely academic! I’ve decided to share a few more reading suggestions for my whimsical reading challenge, this week on the theme of ‘numbers’:

1. Number9Dream by David Mitchell
TO BE READ. I’ve downloaded this on my kindle as I intend to read everything the mastermind behind Cloud Atlas donates to the world. Described as a ‘Dickensian coming-of-age’ set in the Tokyo underworld, how can I not give it a try?!

2. One Day by David Nicholls
I love, love, loved this book. I saw the film before I read it, so I knew what was coming… but I still had to reread the ending just to make sure! You really can’t help but fall in love with the characters, and the story is so grounded and believable that you feel like you’re living it.

3. Bravo Two Zero by Andy McNab
TO BE READ. I was given this book, and I’m umming and ahing about whether to read it or not. As a general rule, I don’t enjoy current day war stories, for me to enjoy any battley books they need to be set around the time of the Vietnam War or before. This has recently been adapted into a film that my boyfriend promises is great, so I may read a few chapters to see if I get into it.

4. Eight Cousins by Louisa May Alcott
I adore this book. I have read it probably at least once a year since I was eleven, and it still brings a tear to my eye. In my opinion this is FAR superior to Little Women, but sadly doesn’t seem to receive as much recognition. If there’s one book I’d bully people into reading, this is the one. Indulge my nostalgia… try it and let me know what you think!

5. Three Ways to Capsize a Boat: An Optimist Afloat by Chris Stewart
TO BE READ. This is by the same guy who wrote Driving Over Lemons etc. I don’t think I’ve ever read a single one of his books, but I seem to have ended up with a copy of all of them… this one chronicles his attempts to captain a boat (having never sailed before). Apparently he is a really funny writer, so I’ll definitely try him out when I need a bit of uplifting.

So what about you guys? Picked any ‘number’ books yet?

D x

Leave a Reply

