Teaching the Pig to Dance: A Memoir of Growing Up and Second Chances

This is the book I picked for the ‘Farmyard Animal’ category of the whimsical reading challenge.

8247445

This is a memoir written by Fred Thompson (actor, lawyer, politician). I'm completely torn about whether I like it or not. The first few chapters centred on clichéd 'words of wisdom my father/grandfather/toothless neighbour told me', and the middle section was also not to my taste (anecdotes of a troublemaker… the kind of boy I would have loathed at school). However, I found the later chapters much more interesting- the development of his career promised a much more unique story, he was involved in so many fascinating things! I just wish there had been more of a focus on that part of his life.

It's very hard to criticise someone's memoir, because it's their life… literally! There's no way you can do it without getting personal. Unfortunately I was expecting a bit more from this book… I thought that with a title like 'Teaching the Pig to Dance' it would be hilarious. I imagined that there'd be a scene where someone actually tried to teach a pig to dance, but there wasn't. However, after briefly mentioning a few of the cases he worked on he prompted me to do a bit of Wikipedia research; as usual I ended up stuck in a link pit…

He does however get a giant gold star for starring in Curly Sue.

If you've read any books with 'Farmyard Animals' in the title leave me a link in the comments below!

D x

3 thoughts on “Teaching the Pig to Dance: A Memoir of Growing Up and Second Chances

  1. Hi Daire, Wanted to say thank you for your wonderful mystery muse presses. They have pride of place in my studio space the content card is fab.
    Bright blessings Charlotte

  2. Pingback: Whimsical Reading – Farmyard Animals | Doing it the Open Way

  3. Pingback: Readarama | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

