Whimsical Reading – Farmyard Animals

BeFunky_Whimsicalreadingchallenge.jpg

So far this year I have read 16 books. According to GoodReads that means I’m 8 books ahead of schedule (my target for 2013 is 50) but I have no intentions of slowing down. In fact, I’m here to share a few more reading suggestions with you, this time on the theme of ‘farmyard animals’:

All the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy
TO BE READ. I really, really want to read this. I have a secret. A secret that nobody knows…. I love reading Westerns! It’s kind of strange because I cannot bear watching them, but I just seem to love the books. This is the first in a trilogy and has received some really great reviews, so hopefully it will live up to my expectations!

Teaching the Pig to Dance by Fred Thompson
I posted a (somewhat brutal) review of this book a while ago, click here to visit that page.

Rabbit, Run by John Updike
TO BE READ. I started my John Updike collection after being completely amazed by Jack Nicholson in The Witches of Eastwick. I knew the author of the novel had to be a genius, so I made an investment (by investment, I mean I scoured charity shops and car boot sales). I’m almost certain I’ll get round to reading one of these at some point… Rabbit, Run tells the story of a man who impulsively walks out on his family (doesn’t sound particularly enticing, but I’ve heard it’s really funny).

The Red Pony by John Steinbeck
TO BE READ. Steinbeck is another one of those authors whose books I seem to have accidentally accumulated… I remember reading The Pearl when I was about 12 and for some reason I found it really upsetting (I can’t remember why) but it’s stopped me from picking up another of his novels ever since… I might have to get over myself and give this one a bash…

Black Duck by Janet Taylor Lisle
TO BE READ. The attraction of this book lies in the setting: Prohibition America. Think murder, smuggling and jazz and you have what I consider a near perfect read. Unfortunately this one is not in my possession yet, but I am in the process of trying to track it down…

Any other ideas of ‘farmyard animal’ books? If you’ve been taking part in my whimsical reading challenge, feel free to leave a link in the comment section below and I’ll pop by!

D x

One thought on “Whimsical Reading – Farmyard Animals

Leave a Reply

