Whimsical Reading – Mythical Creatures

BeFunky_Whimsicalreadingchallenge.jpg

For the past couple of months I’ve been sharing some suggestions of what you could read if you fancy playing along with my whimsical reading challenge. Some of these are books I’ve read and some I are still staring at me from my bookshelves. I could never refer to myself as an objective reviewer, but I will always be an honest one… having said that I’m refraining from full-blown reviews in these posts; I’ll save those for when I’ve actually read the books!

So without further ado, here are some ideas for the ‘mythical creatures’ category.

1. Kraken by China Mieville

TO BE READ. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Mievelle, but I’m yet to take the plunge. This one sounds aka right up my street, set in an alternate vision of London filled with criminals, cultists and wizards freewheeling down to the end of the world. Actually that sounds pretty much like real-life London…

2. Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice

Click on the link above to see my review of this book.

3. Nightwalker by Heather Graham

TO BE READ. This is essentially a crime novel with a ghostly twist. What’s not to love? It’s not very far up my ‘to be read’ list though as it’s eighth in the series and my OCD prefers me to read things in order!

4. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

Erm… Middle Earth is a tricky subject. I have friends who have almost disowned me when I admitted I didn’t like Lord of the Rings. I love, and I mean LOVE, the films but for once the books don’t quite measure up. The Hobbit is my favourite of the lot, it’s much less dense. But I still won’t be reading it again.

5. The Witches of Eastwick by John Updike

TO BE READ. And this one will be read, hopefully soon. I adored the film (Jack Nicholson is a god), I even adored the short-lived TV series, so I have no doubts that I will adore the book.

There are so many more I could suggest… The Phoenix and the Carpet, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Grimm’s Fairy Stories…. What about you? Any ideas?

D x

Leave a Reply

