10 Things

On my endless procrastinating trips around the blogosphere I’ve noticed a post that keeps popping up… ’50 Things About Me’. It occurred to me that it might be a good idea for me to do something similar because, as it stands, you know a lot of my opinions but you don’t really know much about me. Also, if I make people a little more aware of my weirdness I may be able to make e-friends with some equally weird people. And that’s always fun. I’m going keep this as a ’10 Things’ post because I don’t hate you, and too much exposure to me can cause allergic reactions.

1. My name is Daire, occasionally spelt Darragh, always pronounced Dara.

This has caused much confusion over the course of my life, half of that has been my own. I get to hear some really… creative pronunciations, which is always fun. And I’m not Irish, my mum just liked the name.

2. I love tea. As in, love it.

I have a tendency to get vicious if I go for too long without a cuppa. And I start getting headaches. I should probably talk to someone about this addiction… And silly flavours of tea don’t count. Give me bog standard English tea, with milk (and one sugar if you’re putting the kettle on).

3. I’m currently studying towards a Literature degree with the Open University.

Although sometimes I feel like I might be missing something by not going to a traditional university, I only have good things to say about the OU. So far I’ve studied AA100 (The Arts Past and Present), A150 (Voices and Texts), A215 (Creative Writing), A230 (Reading and Studying Literature) and AA316 (The Nineteenth-century Novel).

4. I don’t have a sweet tooth but I love to bake.

My signature cake is probably raspberry cake with a cinnamon crumble topping. Closely followed by mango upside-down cake.

5. I’m ridiculously ticklish.

And instead of curling up into a ball when tickly fingers approach, I kick. And bite.

6. I get giddy when I find penny sweets that actually cost 1p.

I feel outraged when the try to charge me 10p for something referred to as a penny sweet. it’s like charging £2.29 for a 99er. Or 81p for a packet of crisps. Or 20p for a Freddo.

7. I’m extremely messy but I love organising things.

All of my stuff is categorised and I love being able to put everything away, but if I’m going to do something I need to get everything out. It’s not unheard of for me to build myself a nest out of duvets and art supplies.

8. My favourite musical is Seven Brides for Seven Brothers.

I make as many (affectionate) ginger jokes as the rest of the world, but I still love this film. The songs are catchy, the story is romantic and unrealistic and there are baby animals involved. What more could you possibly ask for?

9. When I was 11 years old I decided I was going to marry Patrick Swayze.

Before that it was Patrick Stewart (Professor X/Captain Jean-Luc Picard). I’m sure the fact that they’re both named Patrick is just a coincidence.

10. I lived in Spain for 5 years.

And now I can speak, read and write fluent Spanish. Much of this was learned by watching Friends, Charmed and Ally McBeal dubbed over.

So do you share any of these quirks with me? Or are you the complete opposite?

D x

P.S. My fab friend Michelle is marrying my other fab friend Wen tomorrow, hop over to her blog to say congratulations!

Leave a Reply

