Whimsical Reading – Space

BeFunky_Whimsicalreadingchallenge.jpg

Today I’m going to share a few more suggestions for my whimsical reading challenge, this time for the ‘something from space’ category:

1. Stars Rain Down by Chris J. Randolph

TO BE READ. This is a futuristic sci-fi, not the genre I usually go for but this was a gift, so I added it to the ever-increasing ‘to be read’ pile… not sure how long it’ll take me to get to it though!

2. New Moon by Stephanie Meyer

Second book of the Twilight Saga. I’m very much torn about Twilight. For starters, I think the films are shockingly bad and that the books are much better. When I first read them I knew nothing of the story, and I did really enjoy them. They’re not highbrow literature but that’s not always what I look for in a book anyway… and I love a bit of something vampirey!

3. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

TO BE READ. Many people have recommended this to me but after watching the last half of the film I don’t really think it’s for me… apparently it’s funny though.

4. Seeing Stars by Diane Hammond

TO BE READ. This book tells the story of a number of child actors and their Hollywood parents. I’m expecting this book to expose me to some not-so-delightful things but at the same time it sounds quite interesting… I think this is the one I’ll be reading for the challenge.

5. Shampoo Planet by Douglas Coupland

TO BE READ. The story of an ambitious 1990’s youth raised in a hippy commune. It sounds like a novel of quirky characters (my favourite kind), so I’m looking forward to reading it.

One thought on “Whimsical Reading – Space

  1. I think The Hitchhiker’s Guide is Alice in Wonderland in Space, only seen the film though and I also think I remember it being better than it is, or was when I last saw it, and I agree Twilight?? Films?? Not good, I think they’re slow and the FX is not good at all. He runs like he’s on a bit of string and someone’s pulling him along. In fact I think you can see the wires on more than two occasions! I love Sci-fi which is probably why I write about time travel and space.

Leave a Reply

