Best Friends

Today I was going to write about books and stuff, but then I saw something on my Facebook wall that seemed more important. I’ve been experiencing a lot of friend related drama recently… so this poem seemed like the perfect thing to share with you:

Best Friends

Best friends are the ones who will tell you what they really think of you,

Those who will give you a big kick up the ass for being a twat,

The ones you share all those secret whispers with, even though you wouldn’t mutter them to anyone else,

The people who will always have a hug ready for you when you crash back down to reality,

Those ones who see how vulnerable and crazy you really are,

They’re the amazing people who will love you no matter what stupid shit you say or do, because they always see through those shields and masks you put up or on,

They’re the reason for the words ‘true friend’.

By Gabrielle Watson

This was written by my friend Gabby, and there is just so much truth in these words. She is one of those people completely free from pretension, she writes poetry because it helps her organise that brain of hers. Her words are raw, and full of truth and love, and they describe her perfectly. I’m thankful every day that I have someone like that in my life. I’m lucky, I actually have two people like that.

These are the people we need to think about on the days we feel completely alone, or the days when we just feel hurt by something someone’s said. The days when all you want is someone else to make the effort with you, the days you just want to talk, the days you feel betrayed or rejected, the days filled with boy drama. I hope everyone that reads this can say they have one of these amazing people on the other end of the phone, and I hope you never push him/her away because real, true, enduring friends are priceless and bloody hard to find.

D x

P.S. I’m sorry if I sound a bit sappy or like I’m quoting the Mastercard advert, I guess I’m just having one of those days!

7 thoughts on “Best Friends

  1. This rang out to me as I’m sadly having the same if not similar issues. The thing I find most interesting is that the emotions behind friendship can be so strong that it stops me from studying until I can fix the matter, and this makes me wish at times I was in a brick university because at least then it’s not fully self motivated studies in the lectures.

  2. Pingback: Best Friends | Doing it the Open Way

  3. Excellent blog you have here but I was curious if you
    knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics talked
    about in this article? I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get advice from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Appreciate it!

    • I’m afraid I don’t, sorry! Feel free to drop me an email if you’d like to discuss something, but I tend to steer clear of discussion boards as a general rule. I find that people can be quite harsh and judgemental on those things… kind of like in the comments sections on Youtube!

  4. I seldom leave responses, but i did some searching and wound
    up here Best Friends | Doing it the Open Way. And I actually do have a couple of questions for you
    if it’s allright. Could it be only me or does it seem
    like some of the comments appear like they are coming from brain dead visitors?
    😛 And, if you are posting on other online social sites, I’d like to follow everything fresh you have
    to post. Would you make a list of all of your public sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    • I don’t think I have any brain dead visitors, I appreciate everyone who takes the time to leave a comment for me! I think sometimes it can just be very difficult to think of something meaningful or original to say, especially if you’re not very confident online, or don’t know the blogger well.
      If you look towards the top of my blog, you’ll see links to my Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram and Flickr, so you’re welcome to follow me there!

Leave a Reply

