Whimsical Reading – Feelings

BeFunky_Whimsicalreadingchallenge.jpg

My reading frenzy seems to have halted slightly- I’ve only finished one book in the past week or so (what’s that about?!).

Here are a few more reading suggestions I’ve come up with for the ‘feeling’ category of the whimsical reading challenge:

1. Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

Check out my review by clicking the link above.

2. Your Sad Eyes and Unforgettable Mouth by Edeet Ravel

TO BE READ. This book revolves around the friendship cultivated between two girls who are children of Holocaust survivors. My intuition is telling me not to expect rainbows and kittens with this one, but hopefully the writing itself will make up for this.

3. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving

I know this is somewhat of a ‘classic’ but I really did find it quite underwhelming. I’d recommend the Tim Burton flick in an instant, but that may be because it’s a completely different story.

4. Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks

TO BE READ. Why do I want to read this, I hear you ask? Because it sounds like epic literature, or because the movie trailer features a really great Fleetwood Mac cover? I’ll leave that to your powers of deduction.

5. Bonjour Tristesse by Francoise Sagan

(Translated: Hello Sadness). This is so teeny that I suggest (and by suggest I mean demand) you fit it into your life at some point. It’s melancholic, it’s decadent, it’s French and it’s morally ambiguous… in other words, a Gatsbyan treat!

Have you come up with any ideas for books with a ‘feeling’ in the title? Feel free to leave any suggestions in the comments below! If you feel like joining in with my little reading challenge, send me a message (in a comment or email, whichever you prefer) and I’ll hop over and follow you.

D x

2 thoughts on “Whimsical Reading – Feelings

Leave a Reply

