Readarama

I’ve just stumbled across a reading challenge that I really like the sound of, and it’s called Readarama. Hosted by Penguin Books,  the idea is to read one book per week for the whole of 2013. This slots nicely into my self-imposed reading target of 50 books, but I think the one book per week rule will pose more of a challenge. Mostly because I read in fits. I will have a month where I burn through 10 books and then three where I don’t even finish 1. So to keep reading consistently throughout the year will definitely push me. Having said that, I’m up for the challenge!

Obviously I can’t change my reading record for the first three months of 2013, but here’s what I have managed to read over the past fourteen weeks:

w/c 31st Dec

Dead until Dark – Charlaine Harris

w/c 7th Jan

Germinal – Emile Zola

w/c 14th Jan

Reality Sandwiches – Allen Ginsberg

The Death and Life of Charlie St. Cloud – Ben Sherwood

w/c 21st Jan

The Sculptor – Gregory Funaro

Mirror, Mirror – Gregory Maguire

w/c 28th Jan

Teaching the Pig to Dance – Fred Thompson

The Legend of Sleepy Hollow – Washington Irving

w/c 4th Feb

A Walk to Remember – Nicholas Sparks

The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins

w/c 11th Feb

(I spent the week working through The Woman in White, it’s not a quick read!)

w/c 18th Feb

The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins

w/c 25th Feb

March – Geraldine Brooks

w/c 4th Mar

Island Beneath the Sea – Isabel Allende

Safe Haven – Nicholas Sparks

The Draining Lake – Arnaldur Indridason

The Jewel Box – Anna Davis

w/c 11th Mar

Water for Elephants – Sara Gruen

Pretty Little Liars – Sara Shepard

Escape – Carolyn Jessop

w/c 18th Mar

Don’t Be That Guy: A Collection of 60 Annoying Guys We All Know and Wish We Didn’t – Colin Nissan/Sean Farrell

w/c 25th Mar

Dracula – Bram Stoker

w/c 1st Apr

(Had a break from words following Dracula, before leisurely starting something whimsical and fun: Island of the Sequined Love Nun)

w/c 8th Apr

Island of the Sequined Love Nun by Christopher Moore

Looking back, I seem to have pretty much been sticking to the Readarama rules anyway… there have been two weeks this year where I haven’t finished a book, but I’ve still been reading one (so surely I can’t be penalised…) For more information on the Readarama reading challenge, or to join in, check out this post. If one book a week sounds like too much to handle, why not join in with my whimsical reading challenge?

Happy reading! I’m off to go get lost in a book…

D x

P.S. I’ve linked up the book titles I’ve already reviewed, and I hope to share a few more book reviews over the next few weeks. However, it’s unlikely that I will review everything I read, partly because I read so much, and partly because if I can summarise my opinion on a book in two lines, it’s not worth me devoting a post to it!

2 thoughts on “Readarama

  1. Pingback: Readarama Update | Doing it the Open Way

  2. Pingback: Let’s Catch Up | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

