Book Chat

Last week I stumbled across this blog, which hosts a weekly ‘book chat‘ on different themes. To me this seems like the perfect opportunity to spend more time thinking and talking about one of my favourite things!

This week the topic is ‘Books set in Europe’, and here’s what I came up with:

The Draining Lake by Arnaldur Indridason

Jessica, the Book Chat hostess, has offered ‘brownie points’ to anyone who comes up with a non-Holocaust related book set in Germany, so this is my offering (although not exclusively German… story split between Iceland and East Germany). Click on the link to see the review I wrote a few weeks ago.

– No Soy un Libro by Jose Maria Merino

(I’m not a book). This (in the original Spanish) was one of my set books at school. It’s a sort of trippy sci-fi about a group of friends on a train tour of Europe. To start with I wasn’t sure if I didn’t get it because of a slight language barrier, or if it was just a really bizarre story, but now I can’t help but think it was the latter.

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

One of my all time favourite books, Rebecca is split between Monte Carlo and the south of England. I genuinely adore this book, and I think Hitchcock’s film adaptation is EPIC. For my original review, click on the link above. I could come up with thousands of books set in England, but I can’t help but think that for a European theme I should try to come up with something a little more exotic…

– Evening Class by Maeve Binchy

I adore everything I’ve ever read by Maeve Binchy, I just picked this one because it’s set in two European countries, rather than one (Ireland and Italy). It tells the story of a mixed group of Dubliners who come together to learn Italian, all have great back stories that form part of this huge, comforting, patchwork quilt. I’ve read it so many times, and I plan to read it so many more in the future.

Join in the book chat guys, can you think of any books set in Europe that you just love?

D x

Leave a Reply

