Whimsy & Wonder

A while ago Alisa Burke offered a few free places on her latest workshop, and I won! I was really excited because I’ve admired her art from afar for quite a while now. I have now worked my way through the materials, and I just love, love, loved the course!

Now, if you’re looking for a teacher who offers step-by-step tutorials to create a specific drawing or painting, then Alisa’s classes are not for you. She gives you tips to come up with your own inspiration, and ideas to push your art to the next level, and I love this. I don’t really like classes where you’re expected to mimic the teacher, I find them a little bit stifling.

Whimsy and Wonder is also a great class if you’re not very confident at drawing, or if you’re coming back to art after years of grown-up time… Alisa provides a bunch of prompts to help free up creativity and play with whimsical representations of places, people and animals. Despite the fact that I practise art on a daily basis, I was still able to get so, so much from this class.

Here’s a sneak preview at some of the introductory exercises:

DSCN1604

(Drawing with my left hand – not the best thing I’ve done, but was a good ‘loosening up exercise’)

DSCN1607

(If I was an animal I’d be… a curvy zebra with pink highlights. Obviously.)

DSCN1609

(Brainstorming ideas for potentially whimsical and wonderful drawings)

DSCN1608

(A quick sample of my whimsical colour palette… and the imaginings they spark)

I would wholeheartedly recommend this class to anyone and everyone, and I can’t wait to share some of my drawings and doodles with you over the coming weeks.

D x

P.S. Whimsy and Wonder is currently on sale! Click on the link above for more info!

2 thoughts on “Whimsy & Wonder

  1. Pingback: On what keeps me sane | Doing it the Open Way

  2. Pingback: 2014 – Aims and Intentions | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

