Top 10 Reads for Spring – 2013

After reading this post on Readarama.co.uk I was inspired to share with you my top 10 books to read in spring, so this week I’m going to take a break from whimsical reading suggestions and do that instead. You may think it sounds crazy, but I do think the different seasons inspire different kinds of reading… Spring to me is about bright sun and cold breezes, light mornings and evenings, misguided attempts to sit in beer gardens and just being generally perky. In spring I want to read books that are fun, light-hearted and a little bit random, so here are my top 10 for spring 2013 (I’m picking five I’ve read in past springtimes, and five I would like to read this spring):

Kiss Me, Annabel by Eloisa James

At the core of this one there is the philosophy of  ‘a husband must be rich, English and amiable’. Basically, this is an ode to Jane Austen, with a quicker pace, more lovable characters and more sex. It’s just fun.

The Farmer Wants a Wife by Maeve Haran

Ok, so on occasion I read chick lit, throw me in jail. A one line summary? A model flees London because of some embarrassing photos and ends up in the land of fit farmers. And they all live happily ever after.

Hardacre by C.L. Skelton

A rag-to-riches ‘saga’ following a family that started out as ‘gutters’ (as in, responsible for removing the guts from fish) and end up in a manor house. I’ve read it multiple times, and it makes me laugh and cry each time that I do. The best euro I’ve ever spent. (Context- I bought my copy at an English car boot while in Spain).

A Little Love Song by Michelle Magorian

We all know her as the woman responsible for Goodnight, Mister Tom, but what you may not know is that this one is even better. Set in WWII, two young girls rent a cottage in a sleepy seaside village to avoid the Blitz. In this cottage is a locked room, filled with the belongings of the previous inhabitant (whose WWI story is told in parallel). It’s gripping, it’s inviting and it really tugs on your heart-strings. Perfect easy reading.

Juliet by Anne Fortier

Fortier weaves together a modern-day mystery with the story that (supposedly) inspired Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. Not too girly, just a nice balance of historical content, cliff-hanger and mush.

Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels

(TBR) Following the massacre of his family a young Jewish boy is rescued by a Greek geologist; Fugitive Pieces tells the story if his journey from feral Holocaust survivor to compelling artist.

A Golden Web by Barbara Quick

(TBR) This historical drama describes the (imagined) life of Alessandra Giliani, the world’s first female anatomist. The setting of fourteenth-century Italy is what makes it appeal to me… most of the historical fiction I come across is either Tudor or World War – both are great, but it’s nice to experience something new!

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

(TBR) Mostly, because everyone says I should. Even though Northanger Abbey was seriously underwhelming.

Bright Young Things by Anna Godberson

(TBR) The blurb makes it sound like Gossip Girl, but int he 1920’s. If that’s not the recipe for a great springtime read, I don’t know what is!

Wicked by Gregory Maguire

(TBR) Wicked is a combination of two things that I love: reinterpretations of old stories and The Wizard of Oz. There is no way I can not love this book.

This list was a lot harder for me to narrow down than I thought it would be, as looking back, I think Spring tends to be my most prolific reading season…

What books make you think ‘SPRING’? Are you completely horrified by my horrific, un-literary taste? Leave me a comment below!

D x

 

One thought on “Top 10 Reads for Spring – 2013

  1. I think Northanger Abbey is only really enjoyable to people who find it amusing to make fun of gothic novels of the that era. Not a good Jane Austen novel to start with. I suspect you’ll find a lot more enjoyment in P&P, which has a nice pace, is very witty and an interesting social commentary of the time. Elizabeth is Austen’s finest character, I think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

