Whimsical Reading – Precious Stone

BeFunky_Whimsicalreadingchallenge.jpg

Today I’m sharing a few more reading suggestions for the whimsical reading challenge, this time on the topic of ‘precious stone’:

1. The Girl with the Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier

TO BE READ. One thing that I absolutely adore is a good period drama, and so I watched the film based on this book as soon as it came out. Despite the slightly not-nice characters, it had a really enjoyable story, so I acquired the book. It’s still sitting on my shelf waiting to be read, but I’ll get there one day!

2 . The Jewel Box by Anna Davis

To read my review of this book, click on the link above.

3. Diamonds are Forever by Ian Fleming

TO BE READ. Watching old James Bond movies is a secret guilty pleasure of mine… I love to curl up in the middle of winter with a giant packet of crisps and a bit of Sean Connery on the screen… and I have almost a full set of Bond novels (I think they may have come from my Grandma) but I’ve never read a single one. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever really read a single spy novel that wasn’t by Anthony Horowitz.

4. The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman

This is the third in the ‘His Dark Materials’ trilogy, and I would definitely recommend giving these a whirl. I didn’t actually read them in book form, I was given the audio books, but as far as I’m concerned it still counts. I loved them so much I think I listened to the CD’s continuously for about three months!

5. The Emerald City of Oz by Frank L. Baum

TO BE READ. Number six in the ‘Oz’ series, and again I have to admit that I’ve never read a single one! HOWEVER I have downloaded the whole lot onto my Kindle, and as I’ve wanted to read them for such a long time, I feel that they’ll become ‘bus books’ before too long.

Now, I’m off to make a cup of tea and crack open the custard creams, but if you can think of any more books with a precious stone in the title, leave me a comment below!

D x

TO BE READ.

One thought on “Whimsical Reading – Precious Stone

Leave a Reply

