Time To Get ‘Girly’

I love beauty products. I have a stash that would satisfy a room full of drag queens. But I have to be honest. I just don’t use any of it. I’m so, so lazy when it comes to all things beauty. I never straighten my hair. I prefer to tackle my eyebrows by hiding them with my fringe. I don’t think I’ve ever been near any kind of fake tan. I only crack out the foundation for nights out and interviews.

I’m aware that at this point you may be imagining some kind of Stig of the Dump/Worzel Gummidge lookalike, but I’m reasonably normal (I promise!).

There is one side of my beauty hoard that I simply adore… the nail varnish. I love having my nails done. Working in an office can be really grim sometimes, and looking down at yummy nails tapping away at the keyboard provides an instant (superficial) pick-me-up.

So, as with anything else  get fixated on, I’m obsessed with finding the perfect product. And as far as I’m concerned, ‘perfect’ is pretty complex… my perfect nail varnish would have:

  • Great colour
  • An interesting name (how unoriginal is naming something with a number?!)
  • A good consistency (has to be thick enough for even coverage, and liquid enough the avoid gloopy blobs)
  • Endurance (it definitely loses points if it chips or wears off in less than a week)
  • A decent price (I’m a hard-core bargain hunter, plus if I love a brand I end up needing all the colours so it’s nice if they’re good value)

Also, it would have to achieve whatever is promised by the advert/poster/lady who works in Boots.

Today I invested in two new colours:

DSCN1742

The gold is very ‘me’ (I’m a big fan of metallic nails) but the pink not so much. I’ll be back soon to tell you how they rate!

D x

P.S. To all you beauty bloggers/general nail enthusiasts out there, if you think you can help me on my quest, and suggest the perfect nail varnish, leave me a comment below! Equally, if there’s anything I should be avoiding, let me know!

2 thoughts on “Time To Get ‘Girly’

  1. I actually used the NYC In a Minute, and to be honest it wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t great. You’ve got to pile on the top coat because this started flaking/chipping after a day that I painted my nails. Still, I got mine for $.99, so no real loss. If you are looking for a good polish, I have always been a fan of Sally Hansen. Recently, I’ve gotten into Essie, which though expensive, will last on my nails for almost a whole week with minimal chipping.

    • The main problem I’ve noticed so far is that it really doesn’t dry in a minute! Three of my nails have massive smudges in them now, which is rather annoying! Thanks for the recommendation… I’m not sure if we can get those brands in the UK but I will definitely have a look!

Leave a Reply

