Let Your Light Shine

Today is day 15 of the Blog Every Day in May challenge and I’m still amazed I’ve managed to keep up! The topic for today is: Life’s a Lesson. What is the single most important lesson you’ve ever had?

In all honesty, I don’t think I can pinpoint one single lesson that has defined my life… the way I am, and the way I live are because of hundreds of fragments of advice from all kinds of people; people I know, people I admire, people I read about. All of these lessons have been significant, so I really can’t say which has been most important.

I can, however, tell you which has been the most recent. As you know, I’m taking part in a year-long mixed media art course called Life Book that’s made up of weekly lessons by different artists. The most recent class I’ve completed was Let Your Light Shine with Joann Loftus, and these are the words of wisdom she shared with us at the offset:

Our talents and creativity are like a beautiful stained glass window. Each piece of glass has beauty and merit on it’s own. But when all the tiny bits of colored glass are soldered together, it takes on a life of its own. Yet, it’s only when the light inside the building is turned on, that the stained glass window truly begins to shine!

Before guiding us through the process of creating handmade crystalline papers in order to craft a little ‘stained glass window’ page:

DSCN1816

I’m not going to lie, this was quite a labour intensive project. And it was messy. And it was a tad frustrating when I kept accidentally shredding my papers. HOWEVER I do love the vibrancy (and shimmer) of the page, and I really love the inspiring words Joann had to share.

So what invaluable ‘life lessons’ would you like to pass on one day?

D x

4 thoughts on “Let Your Light Shine

  1. This is absolutely beautiful. I am sorry you had such a frustrating time of it but for us to enjoy, thank you for continuing on with it!!!! Hmm life lesson. To be a friend to your children, not a punishing parent. It has worked for me 3 times so I stick to it – my story and I’m not going to change it! lol lol Good question though. I had to really think about it! Thanks for that, and for your gorgeous art. Lovies, Samara

  2. Pingback: Stencils, Masks and More | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

