Mother’s Curse/Daughter’s Justice

Hi everyone! Today the Blog Every Day in May prompt is Newsflash, so here goes…

NEWSFLASH I’m about to share a couple of books with you that you’ll absolutely LOVE (especially if you were one of the ones to wile away your childhood wishing you were Indiana Jones). If you make it to the end of this post I’ll also point the way to some great book-themed prizes.

I’d like to start out by saying that I’m not the biggest fan of Young Adult fiction particularly of the fantasy variety… A lot of these authors treat young adults like idiots… as though we can’t appreciate well written prose, or decent character development.

Mother’s Curse tells the story of a young princess named Stephenie with a big secret. Fleeing from her really quite evil mother, she embarks on a quest with a mismatched band of followers to find her brother, while trying to conceal her witchiness from the world. I’d describe it as a metaphorical ‘coming of age’ story with a hyberbolic slant on the typical mother-daughter conflict.

Steph is a really fantastic protagonist. She’s a strong female without being a clichéd ‘warrior princess’ type, it’s easy to relate to her too, which for me is the number one most important thing in a novel. There’s a fab supporting cast (my favourites are Henton and Fish) and there are some seriously diabolical villains (again, Nowak manages to avoid the cliché).

There are sections of dialogue that didn’t quite feel organic… you know when characters try to say too much deep stuff without the more light-hearted chit-chat? Those parts just didn’t seem entirely authentic, but that is literally the only negative I have. And for those of you who read my reviews, you know that’s a rarity… I’m pretty damn picky!

One thing that I thought was absolutely great is that Nowak explains the minutia of how this fantasy world works… he explains exactly how magic works and it just makes the plot seem much more realistic. He’s also a true master of pace. There were parts that were so action packed that I practically dug a hole through my Kindle Touch! I’ve only read about a quarter of the sequel, Daughter’s Justice, and it promises much of the same, I can’t wait to get on the bus after work so I can keep going!

Mother's Curse BadgeAs part of this special promotional extravaganza sponsored by Novel Publicity, the price of the Mother’s Curse and Daughter’s Justice eBook editions are just 99 cents this week. What’s more, by purchasing either or both of these fantastic books at an incredibly low price, you can enter to win many awesome prizes.

The prizes include a Kindle Fire, $450 in Amazon gift cards, and 5 autographed copies of each book.

All the info you need to win one of these amazing prizes is RIGHT HERE. Remember, winning is as easy as clicking a button or leaving a blog comment–easy to enter; easy to win!

To win the prizes:

  1. Get your copy for just 99 cents
  2. BONUS: The sequel is also discounted to 99 cents
  3. Visit the featured social media event

Come back later today for a guest post from Thaddeus Nowak, the author of these two great reads!

D x

6 thoughts on “Mother’s Curse/Daughter’s Justice

  1. I am thrilled you enjoyed the story. I fell in love with Stephenie while writing her and wanted to make sure she was had a unique story to live. I am glad I was able to covey some of what I see in her to you as well.

  2. Great review, Daire! I’m so glad you loved Stephenie’s character and Thaddeus’s writing. I usually love YA and loathe fantasy, but I enjoyed this book too–talk about defying convention, eh?

    Thank you for joining us on this tour and sharing your wonderful review. When you have a moment, please cross-post to Amazon and GoodReads to show Ted some TLC.

    Thank you again,
    Em

  3. Pingback: Readarama Update | Doing it the Open Way

  4. Pingback: Best in Books 2013 | Doing it the Open Way

  5. Pingback: Best in Book Blogging 2013 | Doing it the Open Way

  6. Pingback: Whimsical Reading – Family Relationships | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

