Armchair BEA

The BEA (Book Expo America) Conference took place today in New York City, but for those of us who can’t make it there’s the Armchair BEA… which is exactly what it sounds like, a book/blog conference you can attend from the sofa!

Each day we’ll be given two themes to blog about, sounds like fun right? I’m a couple of days behind, but hopefully I’ll manage to get all my posts written by the time it all ends! And hey, who needs revision?

This post is a little introduction, so I’m going to answer a few of the set questions suggested by the ABEA team:

1. Please tell us a little bit about yourself. How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

I started my blog a couple of years ago with the intention of writing about getting my English degree via distance learning. The topic didn’t manage to keep me massively inspired, so I started to branch out a little. Now I focus mostly on my reading exploits and creative endeavours. It’s kind of haphazard, but I’ve grown to love my little corner of the internet…

2. Where in the world are you blogging from?

Nottingham, England, also known as the city obsessed with Robin Hood. People seem to conveniently forget that it was actually the bad guy that was from Nottingham… but now we actually have a street called Maid Marian Way, and bi-yearly Robin Hood festivals.

3. What are you currently reading?

I just finished Circus of Ghosts by Barbara Ewing (which was great), so currently I’m between projects… any recommendations?

4. What literary location would you most like to visit and why?

No brainer, Hogwarts! For the thousand obvious reasons.

5. If you could eat dinner with any author or character, who would it be and why?

Roald Dahl, because I think he’d have some really great stories… and I can’t think of a single book he’s written that I didn’t love!

So I’ll be back tomorrow with my next bookish post, stay tuned!

D x

9 thoughts on “Armchair BEA

  1. I know this sounds lame, but I never associated your Nottingham with Robin Hood, although the connection is obviously there. I guess I’m just not a big Robin Hood fan.

    tanya

  2. Hogwarts, of course! I could definitely hang out there for a day or 10 🙂

    I hope you’re enjoying the ABEA, this is my first time and I’m having a ball.

    Happy reading!

  3. Robin Hood events in Nottingham, England – heck yes! Sign me up. 🙂 That would be so much fun. Of course you are probably sick of it….but still.

    And Hogwarts is at the tippy top of my most wanted destinations too.

    Thanks for sharing! Have fun at ABEA!

    • I don’t think I’ve actually been to one of the Robin Hood events yet… I always seem to be at work when they’re running… something to look forward to over the summer I think!

  4. Pingback: Every Day in May | Doing it the Open Way

  5. Pingback: Talking Genre | Doing it the Open Way

  6. Pingback: Bye Bye BEA | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

