Every Day in May

So here we are, the 31st of May, and it’s official… I’ve managed to Blog Every Day in May!

This is Rosalilium’s final blogging prompt of the month:

Hoorah! Well done, you have made it through the month. How was it for you? Did you learn anything? What did you enjoy? What did you dislike? Sum it all up!

I have to say that although it was challenging at times, I really enjoyed pushing myself to blog each day. More importantly, I enjoyed pushing myself towards different topics. I think since I started this blog that has been my main concern… the what. When I started out I was blogging exclusively about my studies, and in that first year I only blogged 30 times. I kept telling myself that my blog was about this, so I could only post that. What a huge mistake! Since branching out into different areas I’ve enjoyed writing so much more (plus, this year I’ve already posted 104 times!). Now, rather than viewing my blog as a chore, I see it as a playground.

In the past month, I’ve also discovered how much I love engaging with other bloggers. It’s strange that I’ve avoided that for the past couple of years… but I think I always worried that (this is going to sound lame) they’d be mean. I didn’t really consider myself a ‘real’ blogger. I was so, so wrong. I’m sure there are blogging demons out there, but my experience so far (particularly of the BEDM bloggers) has been entirely positive. I hope to stay in contact with the ladies I’ve ‘met’ over the past month… I really feel like I know them. I think in the coming months I’d really like to start collaborating with other bloggers more… I’m not even sure what with, but I’m available if anyone has any ideas… I like to have a project! I’ve also jumped straight into another blogging challenge – Armchair BEA, and hopefully I’ll manage to connect with some like-minded people…

I’ve started to embrace that the only way I’ll be able to develop this little corner of the internet is through trial and error. I experiment and if I don’t enjoy something I’ll stop, if I love it, I’ll think of ways to do it more. In the past I’ve tried having a more rigid blogging schedule and it just wasn’t fun. I want freedom here, not ‘work’. You can’t jump into this whole malarkey and be as great as the people who have been doing it for years… and if that’s what you expect then you’re going to end up so frustrated that you give up on blogging altogether. I’m not going to sit here and tell you to write for yourself and not the readers, because any writer has to have their readers in mind, but try to do what you enjoy, not what you think others expect from you.

If you stay with me and my blog over the coming weeks, months and years, I’m sure you’ll see a lot of changes. Some will be fab and some will make me cringe in hindsight, but hey, the same could be said about my hair.

I’m in no position to give anyone blogging advice, but how about you? If you had to offer a nugget of wisdom to a blogger what would it be?

D x

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “Every Day in May

  1. Although I didn’t manage to complete BEDM myself I have enjoyed keeping up with all your, and others, posts and thanks to it I have found many new blogs which I will now be following! Well done!! X

  2. Your words about engaging with other bloggers ring SO true. I’ve also been wary – of not being seen as a ‘proper’ blogger, of not being allowed to join the club – and BEDM has been a great way of pushing me out of my internet corner.

  3. Pingback: Bye Bye BEA | Doing it the Open Way

  4. Pingback: 2014 – Aims and Intentions | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

