Keeping it Real. Keeping it Right. Keeping it Factual.

Heyyy, I’m back for another Armchair BEA chat, and here’s what I’m going to touch on today:

Keeping it real – How do you keep your material fresh? How do you continue to keep blogging fun? How do you not only grow an audience, but how do you keep them coming back for more?

The main thing I do to ‘keep it real’ is to be 100% honest at all times. Sometimes it’s difficult… if you’ve been given something to review or you don’t want to hurt someone’s feelings there’s a bit of pressure to avoid saying anything negative. I always make the effort to avoid this. Say I’ve read a book I didn’t enjoy, I’ll explain exactly why I didn’t like it, but I will also note a good point or two. (And usually I’ll remind everyone that this is just my opinion).

One thing I find fun is taking part in blogging challenges and memes HOWEVER they can also be quite stressful. It’s not unusual to get so sucked in and feel like you ‘have to’ post certain things. I’ve fallen into that trap before, both with memes and ‘blog series’ that I’ve started. Now I tend to avoid advertising my blogging intentions, so then if I don’t feel like doing something, there’s no guilt to deal with! I passionately believe that you should only write about the things that you enjoy.

If I’m honest, I don’t focus on finding new readers. I love it when new people start to read my blog and interact with me, but I don’t do anything special to attract them. The only thing I can think of that brings your audience back is keeping your integrity – keep writing about the things you enjoy, in the way that feels natural, on a regular basis.

Keeping it right – Ethics in the blogging world. Disclosure. Copyright and credit. Plagiarism. Succeeding without selling out.

Putting something on the internet puts you at the risk of plagiarism, no matter what steps you take… that’s just the way it is. You really only have control over the way you behave.

I am a die-hard linker. I link to memes. I link to challenges. I link to prompts. I link to things that inspire me. I link to posts I just enjoy. I do this for a number of reasons, for starters it’s the right thing to do! But I also like the idea of connecting my readers to things they might not have come across on their own, and promoting the things that I enjoy.

But nobody’s perfect, there’s one bad thing I always end up doing… If I upload images of book covers I always forget to link them to the source. I write posts and schedule them, and always intend going back to add in the boring bits (like links), but sometimes I just forget to do the images. But I’ll tell you now, they’re either extracted from my Kindle or borrowed from GoodReads. Sorry. I’ll work on that.

Keeping it factual – History, biography, current events, science–the Genre of the Day is Non-fiction! Do you read it?

When I first saw this topic my thought were along the lines of “Crap! I need to start reading non-fiction!”, but now that I think about it, I actually do.

This year I’ve read a bunch of memoirs (some have been disappointing, some have been amazing) – reviews pending over the next couple of weeks! I also have an obscene amount of cookery books, and my text books barely leave my side.

However, I think I would like to start reading more non-fiction. My two favourite subjects are History and Psychology, but ever since my A-Levels I’ve pretty much avoided them… maybe I could find a few more factual books to entertain me over the summer… any recommendations?

Hop over to this page to check out a few more great book bloggers!

D x

3 thoughts on “Keeping it Real. Keeping it Right. Keeping it Factual.

  1. Pingback: Bye Bye BEA | Doing it the Open Way

Leave a Reply

